Do I need a stainless steel flue liner?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

marleyandbowie

Jul 16, 2021
New Hampshire
Hi everyone. Just bought a 1 story mid century ranch with a Hearthstone wood stove connected to a chimney without a stainless liner. While the draft seems decent, starting a fire isn't easy and the stove doesn't put out quite as much heat as I would have expected. I'm a novice with wood stoves so it's very possible that I just don't really know what I'm doing. The big question is do I need a stainless steel flue liner? I have some people telling me I absolutely need one, but then the guy that has serviced the chimney for many years for the prior owners says we definitely do not need one. Photos attached. What do you all think, do we need a liner? Would a liner help the stove's heat output and improve the draft? I was wondering if a lot of the heat was being lost into the chimney and that a liner might help with that...

IMG_6074.JPG IMG_6062.JPG IMG_6063.JPG IMG_6064.JPG IMG_6068.JPG

I would highly recommend an insulated stainless liner it is definitely safer and the stove will perform better. In your last pic it looks like creosote clumps at the bottom of the chimney and the entire clay tile is glazed over with creosote. If you do have it lined clean it very well first.
My brother tried burning a stove with a clay tile chimney unlined it was very hard to start never seemed to draft well he was very unhappy with the stoves performance and heat output. The stove had to have the door cracked most of the time to stay burning.