Dry Wood - I'm a believer

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

bryankloos

Oct 31, 2013
Weston, CT
Guys,

This is my first year with truly seasoned wood, CCS by myself. While I haven't seen very cold temps yet I'm truly amazed with the increased quality (burn time, heat output, quality of coals, and ease of relighting) burning good wood.

Previous years were nothing better than 1 year CCS with closer to 4-5 month CCS at the end of the seasons when I was running low. WOW, what a difference.

I'm getting great heat output from the Summit 9-10 hours after a 60% load. I cant wait to see what happens when I load her full of the oak when the temps drop.

My wife is now a believer, and is eating her words for all the times she questioned me busting my ass to get ahead. "Just buy wood in the Fall. Why do you need so much firewood? Are you serious, more wood?" are all phrases I don't expect to hear again.

Thanks Guys!

My missus also feels the same way now. In fact, I'm the one who mutters "I must be crazy" as I look at yet another pile I just dumped in the driveway to c/s/s. But she just smiles and says, "Yeah, but we'll be warm."

I completely agree! I'm just thankful I found this site years before I ever bought my stove. Now my only problem is where the heck am I going to put the 5th and 6th years wood.

Reactions: Woody Stover
Thanks for posting that as its so true.

So can I hear an "Amen" for our Brother Bryanankloos who has seen the light and is now walking the straight and narrow path of burning seasoned wood?