Dutchwest 2461

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

VCBurner

Minister of Fire
Hearth Supporter
Jan 2, 2010
Templeton, MA
Hello everyone, happy New Year! This is my first post.
This is my first year heating with wood. I got a free antique cast iron stove (Atlanta Stoveworks Box #27) last year. While in the process of restoring it I bought a Surdiac Gotha 513 for $80. I've been addicted ever since. I'm in the process of purchasing a large Dutchwest #2461. One of the catalytic models by Vermont Castings. We've saved a ton of money this year by burning wood! I would like to be sure that I'm buying a good stove. Does anyone have one of these? It is said to put out 40,000Max BTU, burns 22" logs for up to 9hrs, heats up to 1600 sq. ft. with a 76% efficiency rating. If this is all true and it's is as durable and reliable, as the guy who's selling it says it is, then this is the right kind of stove for me. If anyone owns one of these I'd like to hear about your experience with this stove! Thank you in advance.

The duchwest noncat stoves are very fragile (mine was scrap in 4 years). I don't know about the cat stoves but I wouldn't buy anything from VC.

I've always liked the looks of those Dutchwest cat stoves, but I keep hearing there are too many parts inside to go wrong and they tend to be finicky to burn at times. Take a look at the ratings section on this site and check out the different models your interested in.