Englander 55-SHP22 - Shouldn't I get more heat?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

mmNE

Jan 19, 2012
Midcoast Maine
Hello, A pellet newbie here in Central Maine. Today it was about 15 F.

A week ago 1/11/12 we bought our first pellet stove. Englander 55-SHP22. We really like it and mechanically it appears to be running perfect but I am a little disappointed in the amount of heat I am getting from it/how much of the house it is heating. I'm hoping that I wasn't expecting to much from it. I know its based on optimal criteria but the stove is rated for 2200sf. My house is just around that. Its an old home, two floors, the rooms are a bit cut up, ceilings are high, but is insulated well and has pretty good windows. When purchasing the stove I honestly thought if I could even get half of that (for the first floor) I would be happy. But I'm not getting anywhere near that at a comfortable temp. I installed the stove centrally on the first floor. The kitchen is to the right of that and the hallway (going upstairs) and other rooms to the left. In the stove room (194sf) I can get great heat. It's been up to 82. But on the kitchen counter 10' away it would b be 64. I can get circulation throughout other rooms with fans but can't get those temps to rise above 63. I see other posts here and from reading about other situations I feel that I should get more heat. When circulating I can see air movement through the door ways (streamers hanging in them for test) but maybe my heat is trapped in that stove room.