Englander Blue Ridge 500 I opinions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

brownclown

Sep 8, 2023
10512, NY
I am hopeful I have found an insert that appears to meet many of the wants I have. After searching I cant find any reviews. Anyone have direct experience or opinions with this model. If not model experince, brand quality and customer care if helpful. Also if you can confirm that i would be able to fit 16in longs going North/South. From the specs in the diagrams I'm seeing 17 1/4 worth of fire break running North/South so guessing that wouldnt be an issue but i am an insert noob. This is is a large insert and would be overkill for my need of 1,000 Sq Ft.

I guess this just a general insert operation question but will a larger insert cook me out or am I able to adjust it down akin to lowering a thermostat. I have never used an insert so am not really understanding how much control i would have. If i was to load this up would this cause it to burn incredibly hot or can i turn down amount of air to get long burn times? Or would i have to only load a few pieces at a time to keep temperatures comfortable.

Thanks

Nothing. Even just brand quality and customer service would be helpful as this would be a blind purchase online. Thanks

https://www.hearth.com/talk/threads/sbi-purchases-englander.192427/all i have found was this thread . This had lead me to question the quality of the brand. Has been being acquired by SBI helped any ? I see most SBI brands , Drolet, Osburn spoken about positively and good values for dollar. I am hoping the same is true for Englander now.