Fire location in burn pot, Harmon

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NHpelletstove

Nov 12, 2016
Rochester
On my older p61 Harmon pellet stove, the fire always seems to be behind the holes in the front edge of the burn pot.

Is this normal?

I've tried several different operating techniques, but while trying to maintain non-sweltering room temps, and maintain a med/small flame, I haven't been successful. Also this is my first time operating a pellet stove and I'm not sure what a good flame looks like.

Here is a pic (w/ door open for better clarity) of where the Fire usually lays.
6bf6541cc6e6785a26f3b7d7da35352f.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That looks normal.

Totally normal

Looks good to me.

Yes, you are fine. The fire usually hangs to the rear of the pot. The lazier flame in your pic is because your door is open and that would be normal too.

Yes, you are fine. The fire usually hangs to the rear of the pot. The lazier flame in your pic is because your door is open and that would be normal too.

Thanks. I wanted to point out that the door was open so that people understood why the flame looked weak.

Now to just figure out the best settings to keep my whole (weirdly shaped) house comfortable this winter.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: bogieb