First Year - Buying Wood

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ishamael69

Dec 31, 2013
Broken Arrow, OK
I am new to wood burning (well actually I am pre-new, my stove is sitting in the local Buck Stove warehouse still). What is the best way to go about getting my first season's wood? I have a big firewood seller here (www.fixmytrees.com), signs all over the place for call xxx for firewood, the big box sellers selling klin dried firewood from New Mexico by the cubic foot, etc. And everyone on here saying that it will likely be wet no matter where I buy it from unless I've seasoned it for three years myself. What should I do? I'm pretty sure the missus will not like it much if I tell her we have to wait 3 years to use her fancy new Christmas present... Also, apparently I'll need a stock of newspaper for starting. Anything else I need?

Whew! Where to start first. Truly kiln dried firewood will be dry and the 3 year rule doesn't apply.
New modern firestarters like fatwood or cedar disks are good for getting the fire started. Ask around
and see if someone like a firewood hoarder would possibly sell you a cord of precious 3 year seasoned
wood.

The wood most likely to be dry will be of whatever local species dry fastest. What kinds of trees are most common in your area?