Flu Temps 1050F ?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Pallet Pete

I just finished my outdoor air kit install today and am burning for the first time with it. Previously without it installed my flu would be at 800-900f when the afterburner was in use and 600-700 when not burning. right now my condor is reading 1050 but the stove top is reading 400 is this normal with an oak cuz that seems very hot on the flu to me. I have never had an oak before so this is new territory for me.

Thanks
pete

Normally I call the doctor with a flu over 101.5 .... ;)

In all seriousness, I'm no expert but 1000F internal flue temp sounds like its on the borderline.. I'm sure the experts will be along with real advice.

Will having more chimney to draft cause it to be cooler ? this is a question I have had for a while as well. sorry mis stated that I meant hotter ?

Where is your flue probe mounted in the pipe? This is double wall pipe right?

pen

It is 18" from the bottom of the pipe up however there is a vent piece on the stove top that is 2" tall the pipe sits on which makes it 20" up from stove top. This is double wall stainless as well

hmm. Would you describe the chimney again? Wondering if you have a very strong draft but your house was tight enough to keep it under control. With open access to air now, maybe the draft is going to be a bit much? Are the stove top temps coming up? Was that 1050 w/ the afterburner engaged or in bypass?

pen