Frozen Pipes? When to Start Getting Nervous?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Rokal

Jan 3, 2011
Long Island, NY
This is my first year with the pellet stove so far it has heated my 2400 sf home without assistance from my hot water baseboard oil heat. My house has insulation in the exterior walls as well as foam board insulation under the siding.

At what outside temperature should I consider turning on the boiler to circulate the water in the pipes?

The Thermguard looks like an interesting solution but I have line voltage.

Put a thermometer in the basement. When the temp hovers below 50 I would cycle the boiler.

Eric

44 in my basement with electric hot water!!!, just fired up the kerosene heater as it's Football time in the Mancave later!!
92" PJ screen in glorious HD, a 30 pack of beer, Rib's cooking in the crockpot.......go GB!!!

Rokal said:
This is my first year with the pellet stove so far it has heated my 2400 sf home without assistance from my hot water baseboard oil heat. My house has insulation in the exterior walls as well as foam board insulation under the siding.

At what outside temperature should I consider turning on the boiler to circulate the water in the pipes?

The Thermguard looks like an interesting solution but I have line voltage.

Hi Rokal,