Frustrations

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

MacinJosh

Feeling the Heat
Mar 4, 2015
Crestwood, KY
Well, I hope owning and operating a wood stove is a lot more enjoyable than trying to get one installed. This has been a very frustrating experience so far and I'm just getting started.

I stopped by Eastwood Stove and Outdoor Shoppe in Louisville, KY about a month ago and talked to the manager there for awhile. I wanted to set up an appointment to have my existing flue and chimney inspected and determine whether or not it needs replacing. I imagine it does as it is almost 40 years old and seen better days. The house used to have an old Buck stove but it has since been removed and the ceiling above it dry walled and patched over. So there is no access to the bottom of the flue. The flue itself and stack still exist. So if you take the cap off, you could see down the flue.