Gas to Pellet Insert?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ibil4u

Hearth Supporter
Sep 13, 2010
New York
Hey Folks,
I am new to this so bare with me. I have a large brick fireplace that contains a gas log insert. This is not a glass sealed unit and it is open in the front. This unit gives off very little heat and is only used occasionally. I would like to replace it with a supplemental heat source such as a pellet stove insert. I think the unit is a simple gas insert that is vented to the roof with type B piping. I don't think that the firebox behind the metal gas insert is bricked but I can't be sure either way. I think it is a zero clearance unit.

Question- What are my options if I want to place a heat producing unit in this space? For instance, can I use a zero clearance pellet stove (Harman Accentra for example) if the firebox behind the insert is not bricked? How do I need to prepare the firebox to accept the pellet insert? Can I use the type B piping that is already in place?

One dealer thinks he may be able to put a metal firebox in the space and then place the zero clearance pellet stove insert in the metal firebox. At this point the dealer is not sure and he is looking into the issue. Are there any other options short of removing the gas insert, piping, etc. and starting from scratch? If you can put a zero clearance unit close to any wall, why can't you put the same insert into a fireplace that does not have a bricked firebox? I may be mixing apples and oranges here but that is why I am asking the experts on this excellent site.