getting a strange box

Post in 'New Forum Hints and your Questions & Suggestions!' started by stoveguy2esw, Mar 26, 2012.

  1. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,142
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    hey webbie,

    im getting a box which looks like a page that didnt load right and "website couldnt be found" in a block that covers the screen im typing into. only does it when i scrool down to the bottom where a post box for me to type in is already there. it covers on my screen about a 2 inch tall by 3 inch wide area and as i type and the message gets past the edge of the box its hidden by it have only seen it today, and no other windows are open so its not "bleeding through" from a hidden page
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. webbie

    webbie
    Expand Collapse
    Seasoned Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,187
    Likes Received:
    1,085
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Do you have another browser you can try it in?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. LLigetfa

    LLigetfa
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,361
    Likes Received:
    110
    Loc:
    NW Ontario
    That box would be a Google Ad that failed to load. I see it now and then and a refresh usually clears it up.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. Pallet Pete

    Pallet Pete
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    I have tried google chrome safari and Firefox it does this in all of them.

    Pete
     
  5. webbie

    webbie
    Expand Collapse
    Seasoned Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,187
    Likes Received:
    1,085
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,142
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,142
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    switched off the "rich text" and its still doing it. funny thing its only on certain threads, i'd have to go back through and pick em out i can if ya want web. but most of the threads dont do it.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. webbie

    webbie
    Expand Collapse
    Seasoned Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    12,187
    Likes Received:
    1,085
    Loc:
    Western Mass.
    Nah, I doubt the particular thread has much to do with it....
    Weird....
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Could be a failed google ad load or something with its hooks into the the site user's browser.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. stoveguy2esw

    stoveguy2esw
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,142
    Likes Received:
    1,068
    Loc:
    madison hgts. va
    i just find it "wierd" as web said, that its only on some threads , definately not on all of them
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    13,363
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    Well ad load failures would usually be sporadic and if related to the page content (like google ads) also require the correct page content to even have the bad ad load.

    Also there are various gremlins (called malware, viruses, script jacks, etc ...) inserted via downloading and installing software that can look at the page content (and a lot of other stuff) and issue page content sensitive things to load or to be added.

    I would like to see an example.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information