Getting through the night -- Too Hot

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

n1st

Jun 3, 2007
Enfield, CT
This is my first year with our PE Spectrum Classic. Good stove, no complaints so far.

So last night I fill it nice and full around 10pm with large and small splits and crank it up so everything blackens. Everything blackens so I crank it all the way down and it's going pretty gentle but then about 15 minutes later it picks back up, all the splits are burning hot, and the stove gets very hot and puts out far more heat then I need. The bottom of the baffle is red hot. It's about 30 outside and breezy.

Couple of questions...

Does the baffle (I think its stainless steel) glowing red reduce it's life?

I think the mistake I made was stuffing it full of large and small splits. I think I should have just put 1 or 2 large splits or unsplits in. Am I correct?

There was a few post a week or so back, where these baffles have a tendency to become warped. I let the PE experts chime in to instruct the best way to opperate the stove

It seems to be a weaker link in their design.

You should not have to pack the stove full when it's 30deg outside.

Provided there are no leaks (dollar bill test, stove collar connection) use bigger splits 5-6" don't let is char quite so long and load less wood. Loading the stove full of smaller stuff is asking for trouble. Avoid hot reloads...if the stove is 400 deg and you fill it up before turning in, the temp is going to peak out before it settles in, that is the nature of the beast.

Get a stovetop thermometer if you don't have one already.