Great site! First question.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Linesider

Hearth Supporter
Jun 3, 2008
Southern CT
What a great find! I've been reading and have been learning alot. I try and talk wood burning with friends and co-workers and people look at me like I'm crazy when I explain it as a hobby.

I've been buring for a couple of years now and have loved it. I recently moved and will be putting the stove in the basement, because of a lack of space in the living room. I have a Jotul 3CB which I took from my old home (buyer didn't want it!) and I have a chimney in the basement from an oil burner which was removed. Can I utilize this chimney and whats the best way? The chimney is not being used for anything else, because the new furnace is gas direct vent. I'll do what ever I need to make it right and I like the idea of going "overkill" so I have piece of mind everything is safe.

Also the chimney above the roof line is starting to tilt and needs to be repointed/ rebuilt. I was wondering if that chimney can be reduced and rebuilt with prefab pipe attaching to the brick?

Any help appreciated, of course I am just starting to read threads here, so I apologize if I am asking some common questions.
John