1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Harman Accentra - not feeding pellets

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by MoeB, Feb 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MoeB

    MoeB New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Loc:
    Bangor, Maine
    I'm looking for some help in figuring out what's wrong with my three-year-old Harman Accentra. The pellets aren't feeding. I just clearned it thoroughly a few weeks ago and did another cleaning today because it stopped working last night. It had a really lazy fire. When I put it on test, no pellets will feed at all. Any suggestions?

    Thank you!
    Moe

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Souzafone

    Souzafone Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Loc:
    Freetown, Massachusetts
    Do you get any indicator lights flashing? Have you cleaned the back of the unit including the flue and the tee? I have an Accentra, if it's not feeding on test it's because there's no place to push any exhaust, or the auger motor died, which is unlikely. Look at the stickies here, and post back and tell us exactly what you cleaned and in what order. Good luck.
  3. Dougsey

    Dougsey Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Loc:
    Epping, NH
    Does the feed light go on?
  4. MoeB

    MoeB New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Loc:
    Bangor, Maine
    I've cleaned everything. My stove guy came over this morning while I was at work and left word that the auger motor had died. :( He's ordered one and hopefully we'll be up and running next week. Has anyone else experienced this? I'm feeling like an old friend is ill or dying. The house just doesn't feel the same with the oil furnace on.

    Thanks for the assistance.
  5. GVA

    GVA Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,140
    Loc:
    Waxhaw, NC... Formerly North shore Mass
    Experienced this several times.......
    Why will it be down till next week? He should have one (at least) in stock...........

    FWIW lazy fire is more draft, airflow related rather than lack of pellets (bad feed motor)

    If you put it on test and the pellets don't feed then remove the covers and check to see if that little tiny fan on the back of the motor is turning..... If it's the gearmotor usually the gears will go not the stator...........
  6. MoeB

    MoeB New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Loc:
    Bangor, Maine
    I'm not sure why he doesn't have the motor. I was at work when he came today. My daughter was here when the stove guy came, and she said he took the motor with him. Thanks for your help.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page