Harman Advance Will Not ignite

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by BatmanStove, Dec 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BatmanStove

    BatmanStove
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Duncannon, PA
    hi i have a Harman advance pellet stove. last night i came home and it was not on. i checked the stove and it was filled with pellets. i checked the burn pot and it was over filled with pellets. some where even pushed down into the ash pan. i cleaned everything out and took all the pellets out of the burn pot and re started the auto mode. still did not work. yes i cleaned out under the burn pot where the igniter was. this still not worked out. i tried it several times and it still did not work. i was reading and saw that a lot of people have problems with the igniter's so i was wondering if their was a way to test that or if their was something else i can try to see what my problem is. also the burn pot is cold and not warm. thank you
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. THE ROOSTER

    THE ROOSTER
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Home of Wild Turkey 101 & Lake Cumberland
    Light it manually, and if it burns fine change the igniter...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. kinsmanstoves

    kinsmanstoves
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,471
    Likes Received:
    499
    Loc:
    Ravenna, Ohio 44266
    You can hook the igniter direct to 120volts and see if it glows/gets hot. Yes they do go bad, call your dealer.

    Eric
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. escobarmj

    escobarmj
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    RI
    Did you try tapping the side of the burn pot with the access cover open? Fines and ash can get caught in the igniter. also, make sure that area is very clean. In addition, make sure you have scraped the burn pot real well. Combustion products will clog the air holes in the burn pot. You really have to work at scraping hard. I know this all sounds obvious, but I was also sure my igniter was bad but others on this site convinced me to try the things I mentioned.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. BatmanStove

    BatmanStove
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Duncannon, PA
    thank you for all the suggestions. i cleaned it out twice last night and just gave it a really good cleaning last week when it did the same thing. i will do it again and clean it some more and let you know what happens. last week it did the exact same thing and all i did was clean the burn pot put and cleaned out the little ash that was under the access panel for the igniter. the only different thing i did was i un plugged it for the whole time i did it and then when i was done cleaning i plugged it back in and everything worked great. know it is doing it again. i will try cleaning it again and see if that works if not ill do some of those things people suggest to test for the igniter. i saw you can ohm out the igniter and you should get around 50 ohms but if you get more or none its no good. is that true? thank you
     
  6. BatmanStove

    BatmanStove
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Duncannon, PA
    To just to let everyone know yesterday i deeply cleaned the stove again and ohmed out the ignitor. got ol. today i went out and got a new ignitor. their not cheap but to my knowledge only part replace for 9 years so i guess not too bad then. installed the new ignitor and works beautiful know no problems so far. thanks for all the help.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page