Hearthstone phoenix Stove running cold

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

ittym

Nov 9, 2007
dutchess, NY
Hello:
This is my first time/season ever; using wood for heat.

I had a hearthstone phoenix professionally installed in november; and I have not been happy with the heat output. I have a steel chimney pipe running through a masonry chimney

Here's what I know

Wood quality: Seems to be Ok from an exchange with a co-worker/co-burner

Stove temp: With the primary control fully open the center soapstone barely gets above 300F (just put a thermometer on it)

The glass on the stove seems to be running fairly clean; I had some brown stains early that then disappeared

I see a fair amount of steam or smoke coming out the chimney early, but usually disappears once we are down to coals

Anybody's help is appreciated

Regards
Total Novice

Hi -

I'm guessing wood isn't dry enough. I cut a few trees this weekend. dead, dry trees that scattered branches all around when they hit the ground. One red oak, one ash. They burn well enough, look great, and don't seem to soot anything up, but they just don't put out enough heat. stove temps 100 to 150 degrees F lower than the same type of wood from the saem woods. I tried it because the seemed 'dry' and I was hoping to split and burn (now), instead of split, stack, wait, bring back up to house, then burn... The Oak will wait until next season. The ash will be burned on warmer days this year.

My first year I had similar results. I now keep a couple years ahead on wood. It's working for me as I cut my own and have space to store it.