Heat movement with Registers

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

billyg96r

Hearth Supporter
Nov 20, 2008
central connecticut
Hi Everyone,

I'm relatively new to wood burning and installed a wood stove insert about a year ago. I have a standard raised ranch, where the stove is in the lower level, in the fireplace. The stove works well but the heat is somewhat hard to cycle through the house, even with a blower and heat 'finding its way' around corners and up the raised ranch stairs etc. What I'd like to know is if anyone has cut floor registers in their floor, to help circulate the air. If I were to cut the floor and insert the registers, the heat should go directly into the main living area of the house, since that is directly above where the stove is located. Is it just a case of cutting the vents, buying the 14 inch register and letting heat rise and circulate through the house? The floors are finished and in good condition, so I'd want to do it right and wondering how many to add, and if it's effective etc.

Thanks for your reply!

Consider checking building codes in your area, there may be a fire code that makes this unsafe. I would believe that you will get negative responses regarding using your home's air handler to circulate air, especially if the ducting is outside the insulated envelope of your home (ie attic)

I would believe that you will get negative responses regarding using your home's air handler to circulate air, especially if the ducting is outside the insulated envelope of your home (ie attic)