1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Heat N Glo 6000TRXI-IPI

Post in 'It's a Gas!' started by Sanjaya, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. Sanjaya

    Sanjaya New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I just purchased a home, It has a heat n glo fireplace (6000TRXI-IPI ). I have never used a gas fireplace before !!) When I turn it on with a remote, the pilot light comes on. After about 30 sec's there is little boom, I can see it light around the periphery for less than a sec. Nothing happens after that. I tried reading into many forums, I have cleaned the nozzles, rearranged logs, tried lighting it without the logs, with front cover open etc but nothing helped.

    Need advice and guidance in troubleshooting the issue.

    Thanks

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,117
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    DON'T light that unit without the logs. The two logs in the rear have internal burners, & if you remove them & light the unit, you have the potential for a catastrophe. You will have two gas jets blowing unburnt gas into the enclosed cavity of the firebox. If that gas ignites, that can be considered as a BOMB. Check the 9 volt battery under the unit. That operates at solenoid in the gas valve. If the battery is good, take a plastic handle screwdriver & using the handle, rap the regulator head once or twice to see if it may be stuck closed. That's all I can think of off the top of my head, but try them & report back...
  3. Sanjaya

    Sanjaya New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks, I had the first two logs in there.
    BTW where would Il locate the regulator, how does it look like ?
  4. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,117
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    The black knob that has "Hi - Lo" on it is on the regulator head. Remove the black knob BEFORE you rap it.
  5. Sanjaya

    Sanjaya New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Sorry for the delayed responses, Uploading a few pictures I just took, Hi-LO is showing a empty hole

    intensify_plate.JPG

    . I just noticed there are a couple of wires from (dont_know.jpg) module labeled as ( + and -) going nowhere.

    dont_know.JPG

    There is a black wire from the back of main control module covered by a sleeve.
    controller1.JPG
  6. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,117
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    You may have a remote that requires the HI-LO regulator to be removed & replaced with a solenoid. Can you post a pic of your remote?
    You didn't mention if you had the installation manual, so I added the link below. In there is the wiring schematic.
    That should help you with some of your trouble shooting efforts...

    http://hearthnhome.com/downloads/installManuals/386_901.pdf
  7. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,117
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Couple other things. Looks like you removed the plate in the first pic from the unit. What does the front of the gas valve look like? Is there a silver metal knob on it? the (+ & -) wires are probably for the battery back-up cradle wiring. Is there a cradle under neath the unit that holds two "D" size batteries?
  8. Sanjaya

    Sanjaya New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Attached is picture of remote
    DSC_0063.JPG

    DSC_0065.JPG

    I do not see any silver knob saying (+/-). As for a wiring is concerened, I can trace it

    Here is a module, looks like some kind of a distribution module,

    DSC_0062.JPG

    The wires are connected as stated here.
    (Orage and white wires on the back are going up where polit is )
    Orange = Pilot
    Green = Main
    Brown = switch on plate in figure 1 of earlier post
    The input voltage is 2.9V AC ( Measured it with a meter )

    It has a 9V battery not a D size battery
  9. Sanjaya

    Sanjaya New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    I did not install it myself, I came with the house, Since it is getting cold these days, it's becoming a little more uncomfortable not to have it working. I appreciate all the help and guidance been getting here and quiet sure I would be able to resolve it sooner or later.
  10. Sanjaya

    Sanjaya New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Got a service man, there were dead spiders in there. cleaned up and works fine now. Atleast learned to operate one.
  11. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,117
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    Glad you figured it out!
  12. hospicern

    hospicern New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    United States
    Intensifire (that's how it's spelled) Switch Wiring Diagram on my Heat & Glo 6000TRXI shows a white wire to the + terminal of a 9 volt battery, green wire to the negative. MINE IS WIRED THE OPPOSITE WAY. Can I unplug the wires and switch them? Is the diagram wrong?
    The battery is new and presumed to be functional, but the switch has no 'click' and the rear burners won't come on. I can't remember if the burners worked in the past, but my husband is pretty sure they did. He has done some cleaning (or something) around the gas line, removed the logs, and sprayed the nozzles with air, but the rear burners still won't light. The logs are back in. I've switched everything on and off, changed every setting, but I wonder about the wiring.
    Thank you.
  13. DAKSY

    DAKSY Patriot Guard Rider Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,117
    Loc:
    Averill Park, NY, on Burden Lake II...
    There should be no problem correcting the wiring. See if that lets your Intensifire system engage. The Rocker switch on the face plate needs to be in the correct position also.
  14. hospicern

    hospicern New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    United States
    I corrected the wiring and changed the battery again, but still no luck. The center flames seem to be higher now, but that shouldn't be due to what I did today. Maybe the gas line to the Intensifire needs to be disconnected and given a better cleaning. Weird that those wires were switched, though. Thans for the reply.

Share This Page