Help and suggestions requested on wood furnace

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

coppermouse

Sep 25, 2007
I have been heating my house with a wood stove for 10 years and I have decided to get a wood furnace. I am tired of the mess in the living room from the bark, sawdust, bugs and ashes. Also I am tired of one really hot rooms and the opposite corner of the house being cold. So here is my plan and questions. Any help suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
First off I am thinking of either a USSC 1557 or a Vogelzang Wood/Coal Model# 2500. Is one significantly better than the other. Any feature(s) on one which are better? Any other brand you might suggest in the $1000 range? The USSC is convenient because I can go pick it up at Tractor supply.

I want to install it in my attached garage. Just on the other side of the wall in the basement is the furnace so I can just run 2 ducts through the wall under the first floor of the house. I know it would be more efficient to put it in the basement, but then I have to haul wood through the house into the basement and still have the mess problem. There is no outside access to the basement and I would have to cart it down the stairs. It would be so easy to fill in the garage. Plus it would keep the garage warm. I would have to use 8" supply and return ducts. Any thoughts on this configuration?

When you connect the furnace to the existing furnace, the units are in parallel. I still have to use the propane furnace bacuse I travel quite a bit and have to keep the house warm when I am out of town.