Help! Clicking Noise in the stove pipe!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Newburner1956

Nov 11, 2008
Midwest
hello: I'm new to wood burning. Well, not from enjoying the heat, but being the one to make the fire and tend to it. My husband passed last August and he was the expert at using a wood burner stove. We purchased a Hearthstone Heritage. My wood is seasoned 1 and 2 years. I have a thermometer on the pipe and am running the fire at about 325-350. I continue to hear a clicking noise that sounds like its in the pipe - like someone is tapping from the inside.

I don't know how 'full' is full to load it with wood and the flame seems to take up the whole glass door and touch the top of the stove. Is that ok??

I'm a little nervous about all of this because the reason we have the new Heritage soapstone is because two years ago we had a fire. Of course since then everything is new and up to code but I guess I'm afraid of too much flame and that clicking noise.

What could it be??? Help!!!!

The clicking is the metal expanding/contracting. It's normal.
The flames are good when you're getting it going but you'll want to damper it down once you have good ignition. Too much air and you'll burn too fast and hot and may damage your stove. When in doubt, damper it down (less air). Worst case scenario then is you have a smoldering fire and you build up a bit of creosote.
Those temps sound like a good cruising level, though I'm not familiar with that stove. You should have the damper to the secondary and be able to almost close the air (1/4 open ?)