1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Help Needed: Enviro, and Max-M Issues

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Dave M, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. Dave M

    Dave M New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Sundown NY
    I thought I had found a good Enviro dealer in my area, in Monticello NY. Turned out they were in Monticello Minnesota, not NY. I guess I cheaped out, I bought the unit from them anyway because it was $500 less than I could find anywhere local. I didn't think this was too a big deal, until after the initial work was done.

    I installed the unit straight through the wall with a vertical rise. Used the best double wall vent kit I could find, the Duravent 3100. Also used a piece of 3 inch stainless steel for an air intake.

    The install seemed to go smoothly, but the auger wouldn't spit out any pellets. Frustrated, I called Enviro for some tech support. They were like, "who are you, and why are you calling us?" So I called my dealer in Monticello Minnesota to either help me out, or to get Enviro to recognize me. After a short discussion with Enviro, my dealer told me I was SOL because I didnt have the unit installed by a licensed Enviro technician. (Yes, thats a warning to those of you hunting for internet bargains.)

    Long story short, I got the stove running anyway. Running on manual, I turned the unit up high just like the forum sticky said.... and adjusted the damper rod to adjust the flame. Stove burned all night on low with no problems, but the next day it went out on its own. I tried to save the flame by adjusting the damper, but the fire died, looked completely black with no glow at all. It was the middle of the day, so I thought the stove may be regulating itself, shutting down because the outside temp was so warm.

    Once the inside temp dropped to around 60, I got a little nervous because it wouldn't restart on its own. I shut it down, let it sit awhile, and manually restarted the unit with no problems. Fired the stove back up to high, and reset the damper rod as best as possible. Seems to be running fine for a couple of hours now, but I still have an uneasy feeling about the flame dying.

    As you can imagine, I still have questions, need help, and would appreciate any advice. Once the damper is set, am I supposed to leave it alone? The damper rod is also very stiff, hard to push or pull but does seem to respond fine. Normal?

    Should I be worried about the flame getting high and low on its own? I notice the green pellet light is solid, but flashes if I close the damper rod a bit. I only try to close it a bit because sometimes it looks like the fire is blowing around too much, almost as if wind is blowing into the firebox. Other times it looks calm, not sure if this is normal.

    Are there some special settings that only an Enviro tech can tweak? I really don't want to have to call a dealer. Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.


    -Dave

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. oliveone

    oliveone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Loc:
    Hudson Valley NY
    I have the Maxx :) stove not the Maxx M stove. I live just over the mountain from you by the reservoir. I am free on Friday AM to help you work this out. To start with are you on a thermostat? When I turn my stove down to low it will sometimes go out as the pellets will not feed as fast as they burn. There will be a pile of unburned pellets in the burn pot. Try to adjust the fine feed to feed more pellets. May also need to turn down the combustion air also?? Once the damper is set you should not need to move it. This is best done with a tool (Magnehelic) to set up. No I don’t have this tool sorry. You can make the stove work without this tool it just may not be at 100%. This stove is a great stove. You can get parts for the unit. I also installed my stove as the money save will cover the parts that you may need to buy. The dealer you brought the stove from should have told you about the “if they don’t install” (Enviro) then there would be issues!! I will send you a message with my contact info. Everyone will need (like to) to see some pics of the install. What was the cost of the stove and cost of shipping?
    Hope this was helpful
    Dave M likes this.
  3. ekarlis

    ekarlis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Loc:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Hi Dave:
    I own an Enviro Maxx-M & love it. On page 9 of the Operating Instructions- Slider/Damper Set Up. It is not
    difficult to set up. You need a Magnehelic (round gage that measures inches of water column) range 0-.50".
    On page 17 of the installation manual - Important (read this) There is a 1/8" hole on the right side of ash shelf.
    I screwed in a brass barbed fitting & ran the hose to the low port (high port open to ambient). On start-up, the
    green lite will flash & stop flashing when the 120F switch closes. If I remember correctly,when I stared mine up
    pushed the fuel trim button to get the auger going. If you think OA is blowing into the firebox, put a PVC elbow
    on it. You are right, once you set the damper you should not have to change it. Let me know if you have any more questions. The guru on these stove is Jay Takeman & he can help.(Hope you do not mind offering your services)
    Dave M likes this.
  4. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,463
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    I think you both have covered the initial problem. Once the stove is set with the mag it should be fine. Almost set and forget after that. These stoves have the combustion blower varied with each heat setting, So you only need to adjust it on high. Once set the control will take care of the blower speed for you. Fine adjustments can be made with the air trims settings if needed.

    Well done fella's! ;)
  5. ekarlis

    ekarlis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Loc:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Happy Thanksgiving & Thanks Jay
  6. Dave M

    Dave M New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Sundown NY
    Wow, I even get help on Thanksgiving. You guys are all great, I hope you all enjoy yourselves today!

    Oliveone: Internet big, world small! Its the Maxx-M, multifuel. I'm still running on manual because I'm still not sure if my thermostat would work with this unit. I have a standard mechanical honeywell therm, about 3 years old, was running an old oil heater. Not sure of the voltage, but its as standard as they get. The book says to use a 12 or 24 volt thermostat, but the enviro guy said something about a millivolt something or other. (I did manage to squeeze out a few questions before he blew me off.) maxxx.png ventttt.png ventttt.png back.png
    Long story, but this dealer was only interested in the sale, they even tried to snake me into a floor model. They didn't mention a thing about the install, even assured me they could send me parts as fast as anyone. Cost me 3260 in total, brand new, delivered to my local lumber yard(included shipping was 260). But that was only the price because I told them I was disputing the sale because they were not honest about the stove being a floor model.

    Ekarlis: Thank you, I did read the section on the damper..... but mine came pre installed. Not sure if it was pre-set at the factory, or if they sold me a floor model anyway. The rod does not appear to be marked for the proper adjustment. Its tight though, I have to smack the knob just to get the rod to push in a bit. The diagram shows set collars but does not say if they or anything else are meant to be adjustments. Is the rod supposed to be this tight? I put an elbow on the end of my outside air intake, thank you. So far no problems today, running on low.

    Critiquing my install, I see I am missing a foot of pipe at the end of my run. I used 2 feet to run from the stove to the tee, but the kit diagram shows only one. No big deal to add another piece, but I'm not sure how or if it would effect the way the stove runs. I also see I need to foam my outside air opening, or get a 3" collar for it.

    Sorry about the double pic guys.
  7. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,463
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Looks very nice! Get yourself a reasonable programmable stat. The Lux models are less than $30 and will do more all thats needed! I have the 500 and it has been doing a nice job with my stove for several years.

    The gang is gonna say you need a good surge suppressor too! Good advice. Models that triplite sells are popular here.
  8. Dave M

    Dave M New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Sundown NY
    Thank you jt, do you mean the Lux TX500E smart temp programmable? And do you mean a basic surge protector?
  9. jtakeman

    jtakeman Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13,463
    Loc:
    Northwestern CT.
    Yes, That should do just fine.
  10. oliveone

    oliveone Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Loc:
    Hudson Valley NY
    Install looks good. Sent you a PM. Give me a call and we will c what we can do to get you running better.

    Hope you have a good Thanksgiving.
    jtakeman likes this.
  11. Dave M

    Dave M New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Loc:
    Sundown NY
    Just wanted to say thanks to all, especially oliveone! Olive was kind enough to offer me some advice over the phone today. He was extremely helpful, helluva nice guy! (Stove is running great too!)
  12. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7,029
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hello

    I like the Lowes Lux TS1500u because with dip switch 2 on the board you can change the T-Stat from 5-1-1 programmable to full manual mode!

Share This Page