1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Help With Appalachian Gemini XLB

Post in 'The Hearth Room - Wood Stoves and Fireplaces' started by TommyTally, Dec 29, 2012.

1. TommyTally

TommyTally New Member

Loc:
    Midwest
    Hello, new to the forums, though I have been browsing for a few months. Bought a new house in late summer, and it came with what I believe is an Appalachian Gemini XLB (no instruction manual passed onto us with the sale of the house). I believe the stove was put in when the house was built around 20 years ago. I have no experience with wood stoves prior to this house, but I have come to the conclusion that the previous owners likely did not perform appropriate maintenance given the state of the stove when we moved in. I had a sweep come to clean the chimney, they stated that if we would have tried to start a fire the entire house would have likely filled with smoke.

I have been burning intermittently so far this season, and have tried to clean out the catalyst (I honestly think it is the original catalyst) with a vacuum to keep it at least minimally clean. However, I noticed it did have very significant clogging the last time I looked at it and am currently trying to remove the catalysts in order to clean them until I can order a new one. Hence, the reason for my post. Does anyone know how to get the catalyst out of this type of stove? Pictures are below. I have taken off the flame shield, but cannot get the catalyst/damper housing off in order to get the catalyst out. I have tried loosening the damper tabs, but still not success. any ideas? IMG_20121229_131820.jpg IMG_20121229_131827.jpg

Helpful Sponsor Ads!

2. jwoair23

jwoair23 Burning Hunk

Loc:
    Pittsburgh, PA