How big should I go?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

NoMoreCityForMe

Nov 8, 2014
West of Denver, CO
Short story - I'm looking to heat about 900 sq ft with a wood stove. I'm considering the Englander 30-NC after reading reviews on this site, but wonder if it might be too much stove for the space. I'm new to wood burning and have only used the older stove that came with my house, I've never used one of those new fangled EPA stoves.

Long story - I bought a raised ranch style house this summer, about 1850 sq ft with a slab foundation. Upstairs is slightly larger than down and has a kitchen/living room, two bedrooms and a bath. Downstairs is almost the exact same layout with a large living area, office, utility/laundry/mud room and bath. It's well insulated, not quite airtight but not drafty. It came with an older Sierra wood stove (which looks like the one pictured in this thread) in the upstairs living area and a few stacks of dry pine and aspen. The house also has a propane furnace, although I question the efficiency of the vent placement. I'm in the foothills west of Denver at 8800 ft altitude.

Upstairs heats itself pretty well on sunny days thanks to a wall of south facing windows. I've used the stove up there a few times on colder nights, usually to bump the inside temp up to the 70s so that it's still in the 60s when I get up in the morning. Haven't tried to do any overnight burns yet but it might be necessary when it gets colder.