I fear bugs!

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Sleepy

Jan 23, 2008
Western Pa.
Actually I am only worried about bringing in bugs with my firewood.

Is the a legitimate concern?

This is my first year burning wood on a regular basis and I would like to store a half a face cord or so inside.

I thought about building a wood box and lining it with screen.

less bark = less bugs
less moisture = less bugs

I built a wood storage box and thought of lining the top few inches with sheetmetal to reduce any kind of footholds a climbing bug could achieve. I thought I had seens pics here a couple years ago. I never did the metal lining part. I find I don't bring in many bugs for whatever reason. You'll be in much better shape after some below freezing nights.

Generally if you've had your wood stacked long enough to dry they you should have very little problems with bugs. However, you will still get some and also some millers if you bring wood indoors in the winter. We do bring in enough wood to restock the stove after an overnight burn but that is the maximum we bring in.

What we do is stack wood right at the end of the porch during winter so all we have to do is walk out on the porch and grab what is needed. It works good and also gives us a wind block.

Backwoods Savage said: