I think I've been making fires wrong my entire life...

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Hjhunt

Dec 3, 2023
New Mexico
I am completely new to energy efficient stoves. My entire life (I'm not all that old at 32), I've been using old wood stoves that weren't these new fancy ones. And now I'm questioning everything I've ever learned.

We recently got a new vermont castings dauntless. I'm a Vermont native, so I'm partial. My grandmother had a propane VC in her kitchen when I was little.

Anyway, I'm having a hard time with the technology. It doesn't seem like this is all that uncommon, especially with VCs.

I start fire per normal. Get it roaring, close the damper, then reduce air control gradually. I was worried today that maybe we aren't running it as hot as we should, but if we did, we'd be cooked out of our home. We have a 1800sqft home, and maybe 330 of that is a back room that we don't heat (keep the door closed) with the stove. Another 120+ is another bedroom that also has the door closed.

Anyway- I turn it down enough so that there is a slow moving flame. Doing so- the stove top therm reads between the "300-600 good burn" range. However, I can't really get the air completely turned down to prevent it from getting 100 degrees in the house.

Additionally, a stocked dauntless for "overnight burn" is lasting about 4 hours. The wood is seasoned 2 years, heavy, dry juniper/pinon mix, stored in our dry carport (we live in NM where oak and other really great hardwoods aren't really available for less than $600-$700 a cord).