Intrepid 2

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Dmarch

Sep 19, 2023
Nj
New memeber here.!Not sure if my earlier post worked. Need help identifying this intrepid 2 model. Plate is missing. Thankyou again for letting me learn from all your knowledge

20230919_060241.jpg

I purchased this stove a while ago and it's finally time to install it. I am new to all this and was looking for any info you guys can give on this. I don't know the exact model number because the plate is missing for some reason. If someone can tell just by looking at the outside ? I know it has a catalyst if that helps? Also I didn't know vermont castings is no longer in business so will that be an issue of I need anything for it? I can get more pics if necessary. Any info is appreciated

20230919_060241.jpg

Without the UL label it is considered an unlisted stove and will require 36" clearances to all combustibles. This can be reduced to 12" with proper wall shielding.

Do you have an Intrepid II manual?

I printed a intrepid 2 manual but it's for model 1990 so I wasn't sure if it would be the same. I am gonna try and search for that plate I don't know how I either misplaced it or it fell off transporting it. It said in the manual rear clearance could be 9" if heat shields are on and wall is protected I think? Not home now to look

No nothing wrong just want to install it soon and would like to have more info on it. I didn't even know vermont castings is out of business. If I ever need parts will it be an issue? Another reason why I was looking for the specific model was to look up parts.