just got my gas bill......

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm with you on this one.
I've been burning wood for 27 years and loving it.
So far this winter I have used 4 gal of oil and I keep my house temp at a cozy 76 deg

Mine was $33 last month - basically a month's worth of hot water, which includes $16 for the privilege of being their customer, and a whole stack of taxes for the city, county, and state, plus several other fees for who knows what.

Nothing like using the gas bill as firestarter, though! I wish I had the spare capacity on my load center, I'd probably have put in an electric water heater and had the gas co come out and shut off service.

We are all electric, including well pump and the bill this time was $37. Of course that is deceptive since it is a co-op and they overcharge us every month and bank the overage for a "capital reserve". Then in hottest months and coldest months they give little bits of it back in "capital credits". Mostly it is to bribe us not to select another electricity supplier since deregulation kicked in.

awesome man.. that has to be a great feeling..

$47 for last month. Not bad for mostly evenings and weekend burning. Next year, I'm set to go 24/7. Then the
bill should be limited to water heater and connection charges.

$212.00 for 18 months of propane! I love my wood stove, and my tankless hot water heater! :lol:

Always a nice surprise with a gas bill that low.

We slowed our wood burning the last 5 years to part time with gas bill for the
season at about $300.00........but last year it went to $1600.00 so this year we