Just received my Englander 32-NC, any advice?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Hexa Fox

Sep 19, 2023
West Virginia
Hey guys,

So the trucking company just dropped off my new wood stove. It is calling for a chance of rain tomorrow and I was planning on trying to burn in the stove to cure the paint some before bringing it into the house. I have never done this before. If I remove all other shipping material can I burn in the stove outside sitting on the pallet the way it is or is that a hazard?

I was a little disappointed to see one of the firebricks inside the stove is cracked and looks burnt as you can see from the picture.
IMG_2124.jpegIMG_2123.jpeg

Reactions: thewoodlands
If I remove all other shipping material can I burn in the stove outside sitting on the pallet the way it is or is that a hazard?
I would...just plop a piece of cheap stove pipe in the hole to get some draft, let er rip.
That brick just has paint overspray on it...and they'll likely send you a new brick...if not, those are cheap.

Reactions: Hexa Fox
Looks like you have a couple of damaged bricks. The tops of the two inside bricks against the back wall look damaged. I would check them all out before initial burning. Take photos for manufacture before burn.

The front right side brick is cut at an angle. That is the one with the paint overspray on it.