1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)
  1. Brian_YZ

    Brian_YZ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Loc:
    NE Kansas
    Finally got the stove going.
    On first start up, about 10 minutes in I noticed a wood burning smell. Shortly after I noticed the 45 degree joint had worked loose at one of the seams. Shut the stove down and re-crimped the joint, RTV'd and taped for good measure (CO2 detector never went off). After a few nights of burning on HR3 and everything else set at auto, I do not seem to have any problems. The stove after about 1 hour will increase the temp on the main thermostat from 65 to about 71. The rest of the house doesn't seem to be too cool from not getting heat from the registers. I'll be happy if the stove will heat the whole house without using the heat pump, but especially the backup furnace. But that is not why I bought it.

    One last question. Is it normal for the draft/exhaust fan to cycle during operation? Once the room fan kicks on, I can hear the exhaust fan start up for about 1 second or two, then wind back down. It's like every couple of seconds on/off.... on/off. Even going outside you'll see smoke for a little while, then nothing.

    The only pellets that are readily available in my area are OHP (Ozark Hardwood Products), and I'm not having any problems. I've read mixed reviews, but for the price I'm happy.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. urkiddin

    urkiddin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Loc:
    Western Ma. near Vt border
    yes it's normal for the draft fan to cycle.
  3. Brian_YZ

    Brian_YZ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Loc:
    NE Kansas
    Interesting evening last night....
    Had the day off so I let the stove run almost all day while I worked out in the garage. Since it was about 45 degrees out, I set the heat range down to 1. I noticed when I came in the room with the stove later in the day the window was a little blacker ash covered than normal. Before I went to sleep I shut the stove off. I heard the motors quit running, so I went to bed. About 10 minutes later I thought to myself "I smell smoke". Then I had a mental argument with myself that everything was OK, normal smell. When I got out of bed and turned on the lights, that is when I noticed the house was full of smoke (so much for smoke detectors). Turns out the burn pot got clogged up with slightly unburned pellets and ash, and the pellets sitting at the top were smoldering. I was alarmed when I opened the hopper lid to see smoke coming off of about 100 pounds of pellets, but that turned out to just be smoke permeating from the auger chute. Lesson learned.... don't burn on low setting until I get the stove dialed in for that.
  4. MCPO

    MCPO Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,191
    Loc:
    western Ma , close to NY state border
    My little Harman P-38 will burn dependably and without a hiccup on the lowest setting of #1 (40 hrs + on a bag ) but I wouldn`t trust my PDVC on too low of a setting since the flame fluctuates high/low too much. I`d instead set it at a low setting that appears to maintain a decent flame on the low fluctuation end of the flame and then crank it up a notch for insurance. Not a big a deal actually. I like to think it`s the difference between a high quality stove and a more affordable hardware store stove.
    Don`t get me wrong here, I`m not knocking your King 5510 , my Englander , or any other stove . I`m just reminding myself why there`s some differences and it`s no secret that those differences are apt to cost more.
  5. urkiddin

    urkiddin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Loc:
    Western Ma. near Vt border
    I had basically thre same problem when i first got my stove.I had hit the off button and left the house.When i came home it was full of smoke too.I played around to see if i could figure out why.What i noticed was after you push the off button it continued to drop a few pellets into the pot which started to burn.Being set at low it seems the the draft fan would time out before they were completely burned out.What i do now if i want to shut it down is open the hopper door and leave it open which stops the pellets and then hit the off button after a few minutes.I haven't had a problem since.
  6. scperk

    scperk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    upstate ny
    well, heating season is upon us again, i am scott, proud new owner of the 5510, this forum is great and all of you that have shared the info that has helped alot of us, i thank you. if the world was more like this forum, it would be a nicer place...........anyway, i have a question about pellets, i am currently using somerset premium hardwood pellets, and i have heard that some prefer softwood and some prefer a softwood hardwood mix. just wondering what everybody thinks. also wondering how the 5510s are doing after a year
  7. scperk

    scperk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    upstate ny
    i started my changes and improvements based on info from everyone, i have designed a burnpot chute that not only funnels the stray hopping pellets, but also helps to seal the burnpot like ke5hde was talking about and it just sits in place without any mod.....check it out, hope you like

    Attached Files:

    • 016.jpg
      016.jpg
      File size:
      189.8 KB
      Views:
      722
    • 017.jpg
      017.jpg
      File size:
      188.2 KB
      Views:
      735
    • 018.jpg
      018.jpg
      File size:
      161.9 KB
      Views:
      699
    • 019.jpg
      019.jpg
      File size:
      165.2 KB
      Views:
      716
  8. y2k400ex

    y2k400ex Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Loc:
    Clifton Park NY
    I'd like to see close up pics of the burn pot outside the heater. Looks like something I have been thinking about. Also... have you considered altering the box the burn pot sits in? I was thinking of grinding off about in inch down and an inch in from the outside edge, (on both sides) and creating a 45 degree angle for the ash to slide down. In my stove the ash seems to collect on the top of the box the burn pot sits on, untill it starts falling back into the burn pot.
  9. Jabbers

    Jabbers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Loc:
    NE OHIO
    Hello to all, I too have a king 5510 i bought 2 years ago. The igniter for me only last 2.5 tons of pellets. I just use the fire starters tsc has (the little squares) tired of buying igniters. I put a pop can between the front of the burn pot and the glass it just fits right in there, this keeps 99% of my pellets in the burn pot, i turn the can around as holes burn through. I also run my stove on 1 and put the blower at 9 which to me puts good heat but i have some ash and i have to shut it down every 18 hrs for cleaning.
  10. urkiddin

    urkiddin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Loc:
    Western Ma. near Vt border
    i just went thru my 3rd igniter.they seem to last about 2-3 months and go poof.just went to HD for starter cubes.i could understand it if i was starting it a lot but i only turn it off once a week to clean it.i guess according to USSC it's the luck of the draw.
  11. Brian_YZ

    Brian_YZ New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Loc:
    NE Kansas
    I altered the burnpot too. Added pieces are about an inch wide. The added pieces seem to help flare out the flame and direct ash to the bottom where it belongs and help direct pellets back into the pot. The only thing I've noticed is the added piece at the front does direct the flame more towards the glass and does trap some ash on the door ledge. I think it would help to add a small vertical piece off of the angled piece on the front to solve that issue.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Stove works great. Went though one igniter after about 2 tons. I just used pellets wrapped in tissue paper to start the flame. Not as easy to start a fire as one would think. Great stove for the money.
  12. juliegirl

    juliegirl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    indiana
    Hi Chris my name is Chris too and i have a 5510 King Pellet stove and i'm have some problems like you. First of all my ashes are all clumpin up in the burn pot so i drilled the holes in the burn pot bigger and that helped a little bit . And my next problem is i dont know how to slow the pellet feed rate down when i turn my heat range on 5 the burn pot over flows so i did what you said to do i tightened the screws to the 2 slide doors and then i caulked the 2 slide doors so they won't open the ones that you pull the handle to let the ashes drop into the pan and i would like to know how to get more heat out of the stove. We also have a big old house and it just seems like we are not getting enough heat and i also would like to know how to turn the heat temp up by the buttons because in the owners manual it doesn't tell how to do any of this so if you could please give me some information on how to change a few of these problems or fix all of them i would greatly be in your debt [ My e-mail is ChrisHuff80@yahoo.com and please send the same message to jkblove614@yahoo.com ] Thank you for your time and help
  13. scperk

    scperk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    upstate ny
    here are some pics of burnpot mod which i suggest works good and increases air flow so i can run on one lower draft setting and can go a week and a half to two weeks in between cleanings ( depending on what heat settings i am using ) and also stopped the pile of pellets that hop out of the burnpot and dont get burned

    Attached Files:

  14. scperk

    scperk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    upstate ny
    notice the extra piece that fits in the groove of the front of the pot.... allof the welds are on the outside so it fits the burnpot tight. i actually held it on the pot when i welded it so it was a perfect fit. i bought a 1 inch piece of stock from lowes the same thickness as the burn pot.... three feet long i think, based on performance, i might make a new one decreasing the angled top enough to clear the metal on the back wall where the pot holder bolts on which will also decrease the amount of ash that collects on it....... enjoy and if you got questions, go ahead

    Attached Files:

  15. urkiddin

    urkiddin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Loc:
    Western Ma. near Vt border
    one would think that with all the complaints about pellets falling out of the burn pot USSC would make a modification to it or offer a aftermarket part.
  16. mrtaters

    mrtaters New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Western Wisconsin
    I just picked up the 5510 for $699 at my local Tractor Supply. Still have 1 left as they are clearancing them out. Nice stove but having burn pot overflow issues on heat setting 2 and the draft fan on max. I have the auger feed rate turned all the way down to 0.65 (yes that low!!) and I still get overflow. Have done everyuthing as stated in this forum i.e. chcked all seals, made sure clean out doors were tight. Did a complete clean out including exhaust pipes and sealed any and all gaps with hi-temp rtv silicone. Sealed the ash drawer slides and still it seems to just keep dumping pellets into the pot and overflows. Have external air hooked up and blows like a blow torch. Anybody have experience with a bad control board? I'm starting to think its not controlling the auger the way it should. Any other ideas? Thanks in advance!
  17. Whallila

    Whallila New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    MN
    Re the 5510 feed rate. Just wanted to make sure you knew there are 2 different feed rate settings on the 5510. Had the same problem with pellet spillage, when I called US Stove they only told me about one of them. I was able to get a troubleshooting guide with all settings and codes. (They quit selling it due to a liability settlement.) It turns out there is a high and low fuel rate. One is for setting 5 and one is for setting 1. The computer averages out feed rates for everything in between. I put my draft damper 2 setting higher than my heat setting then cut both settings back and raised them a half a pound at a time till it was feed properly.
    Mine was getting so full that it would smolder and stink up the house for a while everytime I shut it down. I luv it now. Also, when you get frustrated cause glass soots up, just put an old newpaper on floor in front of door , open it and wipe it off with a dry paper towel. You can do this with out shutting off stove . Mess falls on newspaper and your back in business
  18. mrtaters

    mrtaters New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Western Wisconsin
    No, I only know about the low feed rate. i.e. factory set at 1.75. How do I change the high fuel rate? Also, any chance of getting a copy of the manual?
    Thanks much for the reply.
  19. mrtaters

    mrtaters New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Western Wisconsin
    I dug around on here and found the info on changing the settings. Mine is definitely way too high. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!!!!
    :)
  20. scperk

    scperk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    upstate ny
    how high was your high setting
  21. scperk

    scperk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Loc:
    upstate ny
    you can download a copy on usstove.com but this forum says tons more but i guess it has a few good things in it......good luck
  22. Whallila

    Whallila New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Loc:
    MN
    RE: fuel rates on 5510.
    I can't post the users guide with settings codes due to file size
    It has the C menu codes in it with all settings. I use 1.55 and 4.55


    15. Adjusting Operational Constants
    To adjust the operation constants, press and hold the MODE and AUGER DELAY
    buttons simultaneously for 3 seconds. The display will show "C- 1". Use the HEAT
    RANGE UP or HEAT RANGE DOWN buttons to change the constant number (see the
    list of values below). When the desired constant is displayed, press the ON button to
    toggle between viewing and editing the value. While editing a parameter, use the AUX
    UP and AUX DOWN buttons to adjust the value to the desired point, then press ON
    again to return to the constant number list. Press the OFF button to exit the adjust
    operational constants mode.
    􀂃 C- 1 - Reset to defaults (hold Mode and Auger Delay buttons for 3 seconds to
    reset all to defaults)
    􀂃 C- 2 - Fuel Lbs Per Hour HR 1 (0-5.0) - This is the fuel rate in pounds per hour
    for a heat range setting of 1. The default is 1.75lbs.
    􀂃 C- 3 - Fuel Lbs Per Hour HR 9 (0-5.0) - This is the fuel rate in pounds per hour
    for a heat range setting of 5. The default is 4.5lbs. The fuel rates used between
    settings 1 and 5 are linearly interpolated between these two settings.
    􀂃 C- 4 - Draft Fan Level HR 1 (0-500) - This is the Draft fan output level for a draft
    fan setting of 1. The default is 100/500.
    􀂃 C- 5 - Draft Fan Level HR 9 (0-500) - This is the Draft fan output level for a draft
    fan setting of 9. The default is 300/500. See next parameter for disbursement.
  23. Don2222

    Don2222 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6,549
    Loc:
    Salem NH
    Hi Gio

    I am using Firefox browser and I do not see your pic?
    I do not see your pic in IE browser either??

    Attached Files:

  24. urkiddin

    urkiddin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Loc:
    Western Ma. near Vt border
    I just gave my stove a cleaning(stove and vent).wheni re-started it the temp at the front where i have a magnetic thermometer stuck went up to 400 deg.but the room fan never came on.the stove was starting to crakel so i hit the off button.the rm fan came on then.i hit the on button and the fan shut off again.I let it cool down and relit it(have to use a starter as the igniter is burnt out)and it seems to work fine now.i would think that with a temp of 400 the rm fan should have come on.anyone else ever have this problem if it is a problem.
  25. SmokeyTheBear

    SmokeyTheBear Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    12,040
    Loc:
    Standish, ME
    The place and temperature that counts is at the location the proof of fire sensor is and the temperature that the sensor has set for turning on.

    This is rarely at the front of a stove, frequently it is around the output of the combustion fan. There are very large temperature differences inside the stoves shell.

Share This Page