Liner installation

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Mercurydollar

Jan 12, 2018
Indianapolis
just got my 6” flexible liner delivered today and just about ready to get on the roof to start feeding it down the chimney. Any tips would be great to help me get through the installation process would be greatly appreciated.

I'm no expert here, but I just had a professional company install a liner in my chimney and I watched carefully to see what they did. First they swept the chimney, then they dropped a few "test bombs" down, to make sure the liner would fit. The "test bombs" were foot long pieces of liner, which I think were weighted. They had hooks on the top and bottom to which they attached ropes and had someone who was pulling up from the top of the chimney and down from the bottom of the chimney. This helped them to both see if the liner would fit and to knock off some of the mortar snots. In this process, they discovered a lot of mortars snots, and then had to get some long pipes with a chisel on the end to knock off more of the snots. The whole time during this process they had my fireplace opening covered with a heavy cloth tarp and an industrial vacuum running under the tarp the whole time to catch the debris. It was a good thing they did this as there was plenty of debris. My chimney opening was pretty tight and I had a 30 foot liner - your situation might not be as challenging, but these first steps were certainly necessary. You could make a test bomb using a paint can, or something like that. Note that at a couple points their test bombs got pretty stuck so it was a good thing that they had it se