Looking for Advice

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Whosehot

Mar 19, 2017
Vermont
At 63 I'm retired, and my wife and I just recently downsized to a ranch style home. It was built in the mid 60s and has a very nice brick fireplace on the south wall, in the living room. I own a 60 acre wood lot, so I am thinking of purchasing a wood burning fireplace insert, since the fuel would be free. I have burned wood before, but only in free standing stoves, a Vermont Castings Defiant and a Jotul box stove. I have no experience with the inserts, so I was hoping to gain some knowledge here. The only inserts I have seen are the Jotul brands, and based on my experience with their stove, that's the way I was leaning, unless I hear something here that would dissuade me. Any one have any experience with the Winterport or the Kennebec inserts, made by Jotul? Also, what is the typical cost of the liner, insulation and installation. Is there a per foot price that is pretty typical or average? I know I've asked a lot here, but any and all advice is appreciated. Thanks.

I'm sitting in front of my Jotul 550. Very solid and high quality. That said there are many good and possibly better options depending upon what you're trying to achieve. Do plenty of searching and reading here.

Some folks get surprised by expense of the liner. I think I paid about $1200 but it will depend a lot on the ease of the install. Ideally the liner should be insulated and the install should include a block off plate. To help guesstimate post up if this a exterior or interior chimney and the dimensions of the existing liner?