looking to install a pellet stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

salvatore1

Sep 22, 2014
upstate ny
I am considering buying a pellet stove and I am very new to this and a little confused, I've used a wood burning stove ever since I was kid. The stove I'm considering is the pleasant hearth ph50cabps I have a central chimney in the middle of the house with no outside wall I've spoken to a representative of pleasant hearth and they said that there would be no need for me to put an outside vent kit because I have an old house with a lot of air flow. I have a straight run bare masonry brick chimney which measures approx 10×10 from the inside walls. From the top of the chimney to the first floor (kitchen) where the stove will sit is approx 15 to 17 feet with a 7×7 hole already there for a thimble.also dropping down another 10 feet to my cellar is another 7×7 hole at the bottom of the chimney that I can possibly set up for a clean out spout. I would like the installation to be as easy as possible but I am very confused about what type of liner to use if I go with duravent flex pipe how can I make it stay in the middle of the chimney without touching the walls of the chimney, and do i really have to use thermaseal in between the chimney and the flex pipe or if not, do I have to go with insulation wrap around the flex pipe or hopefully neither. or should I just go with lengths of rigid pipe from the chimney into the kitchen. Ive read through certain threds on this forum that were very helpful but not specific to my dilemma's. trying to get as much info and knowledge as poss