Nc 30 ash clean out

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sowers25

Jan 16, 2012
NE West Virginia
I'm new to englander 30 and wondering what is the best technique for cleaning out this stoves ashes while burning 24/7?

Step 1: Remove the ash plug, cut / break a piece of firebrick to cover the hole where the ash plug was (with a tight fit, that is good enough, being a bit OCD, I put a ring of stove cement around the hole into the ash pan before setting that firebrick so that there are never any worries about air leakage there affecting my burn) ETA: IMO, step 1 should be done before you ever fire a 30. I firmly believe that the ash pan is more than worthless.

Step 2: Use a rake (something to push ashes/coals front to back in the stove) and push everything back about 1/2 way, maybe more.

Step 3: Use the rake, and pull forward into the void the ashes / coals you wish to keep

Step 4: Carefully shovel the ashes from the back of the stove you don't want anymore into your ash bucket held tightly to the mouth of the stove so that any flying ashes get sent up the chimney.

Step 5: Move ashes / coals around a final time to set things as you wish for your loading strategy.

Note: The only time my stove has no ashes in it is during June / July / August. I find the stove burns better wish some ashes leveled out in the bottom.

That's just my opinion. I could be wrong.

pen

Reactions: jotulguy