Need a cheap source for a backup igniter

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by woodsman23, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. Ironhorse74

    Ironhorse74
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    12
    Loc:
    The Great Pacific North Wet
    Remove the side panels and then there are two screws. Directly beneath the door on the outside of the stove.

    Peace

    Brad
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Clay H

    Clay H
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Central Oklahoma
    I looked at again last night and I see what your talking about. I will make time tonight to work on it.
    Thanks Brad.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. Clay H

    Clay H
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Central Oklahoma
    If you cut the wires to the old one, why couldnt you just solder them to the new ignighter rather than unplugging them to use the new wires if the new wires are too short in the first place? Or were the leads long enough?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. Ironhorse74

    Ironhorse74
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    12
    Loc:
    The Great Pacific North Wet
    The wires run through a conduit in the stove. The reason you cut them off is to pull the new wires through the conduit.

    Brad
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. woodsman23

    woodsman23
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    45
    Loc:
    western southern tier of NYS
    3 months and counting on the grainger 26 dollar ignitor :)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Clay H

    Clay H
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Central Oklahoma
    Well my cheap igniter from Grainger quit on me the other day. Only about 2 more weeks of stove weather so I will hand light the darn thing for the time being.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  7. woodsman23

    woodsman23
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    45
    Loc:
    western southern tier of NYS
    notify grainger and they will replace it free...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  8. glenc0322

    glenc0322
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    86
    Loc:
    long Island NY
    You can also use this aaa.jpg
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  9. imacman

    imacman
    Expand Collapse
    Guest

    Buy the cheapest stuff you can find.....dollar store.
     
  10. Clay H

    Clay H
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Central Oklahoma
    Thanks, I'll do that.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. Clay H

    Clay H
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Central Oklahoma
    I have tried that with poor results. I just lay the propane torch in there so it stays put blowing on one spot and after a minute or 2 I pull it out and start the fans...works great.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  12. Clay H

    Clay H
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Central Oklahoma
    I am having igniter issues again in my St. Croix. It went out as always at the end of last season. I replaced it 3 weeks ago and when I test fired the stove, the igniter burned out after the fire was going. It blew the fuse on my circuit board as well. Located a new fuse and another Grainger vulcan cartridge heater, installed it last night and the stove burned fine for 30 min. and then blew the fuse again. I have ordered new fuses and I'll replace that and try to fire it up again to see if the igniter is blown again for sure but I expect it is. What would be the reason the fuse is blowing? I dont want to keep repeating the same mistake.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. smwilliamson

    smwilliamson
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    4,411
    Likes Received:
    747
    Loc:
    Southcoast, MA
    Control board baby
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  14. heat seeker

    heat seeker
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,546
    Likes Received:
    367
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    Is the ignitor still energized after the stove heats up? Is the air channel to, around, and from the ignitor clear of ash?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. Clay H

    Clay H
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Central Oklahoma
    Yes sire, its clear and I dont know if its staying energized after the stove heats up, I cant see it when installed.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  16. Bkins

    Bkins
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    37
    Loc:
    Jersey Shore
    I guess the question also becomes how you ended up doing the wiring when you replaced your igniter? Might the connection be shorting out? If fuses are blowing to me you have a short. Might be worth a look see.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  17. Clay H

    Clay H
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    6
    Loc:
    Central Oklahoma
    I did it the same as I always have. I had cut the old wires at the point where they turn towards the rear of the stove. I use butt connectors and slather it with high heat silicone and let it dry. I dont know how there could be a short.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information