Need help from the experts - blower or offset box...or both?

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cooleydooley

Jan 1, 2012
Eastern Ma
Hi - I have a Lopi Answer stove I installed into my fireplace a couple years ago. While I love it I feel I do not get much heat from it. We had to stick it all the way back into the hearth in order to get the pipe attached to the liner - no room for a 30 degree elbow or other connector. As it was they had to saw off parts of the flue etc. to get it to line up. I am a beginner wood stover for sure - had one growing up that we had out in front of our fireplace and it heated up the whole room - I am missing all of the radiant heat.

I can get a blower for this stove that attaches right on the front - @ $282, and I have seen others talk about offset boxes which I am thinking would allow me to slide the stove out onto the hearth some so that I could get some radiant heat. One issue is that most of the offset boxes I have seen may be too tall. I have only 5 1/2 " from top of stove to top of hearth.

I need help from the experts here :) I have read through many posting here too where you all talk about how an offset box has a negative effect on draft.....I have attached a picture in case it helps.
Thanks in advance :))

Attachments

• SAM_3814.jpg
    SAM_3814.jpg
    52.1 KB · Views: 288