need help on flame realism for Jotul Allagash

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dandy777

Jan 6, 2008
Northern Ca
So, I bought a Jotul Allagsh Direct Vent stove from a guy on craigslist for $950, it was brand new and had never been installed. I studied the installation instructions for a few days, bought the Simpson Duravent pipe, ran the gas pipe and voila! I love this thing! Now I have heat, and I saved a good chunk of cash.

My only issue is the flame realism... it's pretty darn good but it bothers me that the right side of the firebox has a larger flame (higher than the rest). Is this normal? I tried adjusting the air shutter (doesn't seem to make much of a difference), also tried moving the ceramic embers around, which seems to make a slight difference.

My next effort will be to remove the ceramic logs and embers from the firebox and then fire her up with nothing in the firebox. If the flame is higher on the right side then I guess that's just the design of the burner... Am I right?

Air shutter adjusts fuel to air mix, it wont effect flame height from one side to the other. You should set that back where it belongs so you don't create a sooty flame. Too much air will make the flame very yellow and sooty.

Check the ember placement and the logs, both are critical to the flame height and a balanced flame. A log even 1/4" out of placement can change the overall flame height. Once the logs heat up the sort of propel the flame higher. You want the flames to roll up the sides of the logs but not really hit them too much (called impingement) which can cause sooting.