New guy here with some questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Builtupbowtie

Oct 5, 2010
Ohio
Hi guys! I've been reading the forums here for a while and finally took the time to sign up. Anyway I'm pretty new to heating with wood and this seems like a great place to learn. I'm looking to get a stove put in within the next month and have been researching them for about a year on and off. My house is about 1800 square ft, single floor ranch on a slab so no basement, open floor plan from family room to dining room to kitchen and 3 bedrooms down a hallway. I am pretty much set on a jotul Oslo in the brown majolica finish. I will be placing the stove in a central location in the family room in front of an 8by 8 wall which will be covered with Owens corning cultured stone. My main question is I want to keep it as close to the wall as possible so I will be using the heat shield and double wall pipe to give me 6in of clearance from the back of the stove. Are there any benefits to double wall pipe other than clearance issues? From my understanding single wall provides more radiant heat. Also what is the best brand of pipe to use and why? The stove shop has duravent written down on my estimate. I would love to hear any tips and tricks for the Oslo as well from what I have read it's suppose to be a good stove. Thank you

Nice stove, looks like youve been doing your home work! My stove was put in with dura vent and double wall. Five years and still working. + or - a few do to CRS.