New guy with a few questions

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

phatdonkey

Dec 15, 2014
West Norriton, PA
Hi everyone,

I'm new to burning and have been lurking the site for about a month.

Ill start with my location for a possible price reference. I live in West Norriton, PA, about an hour west of Philadelphia.

I bought a house in May with an open masonry fireplace. incredibly inefficient and looking to install an insert. The fireplace is a good size and i know i can fit a Lopi Freedom into it, and possibly a Regency i3100. Im getting no repsonses from any of the Regency dealers in my area, I guess they dont want any business. I finally went to a store yesterday and spoke with a guy about the Freedom. I was surprised how much these inserts cost. I was quoted, for the insert, blower and surround, $2926. Then of course the new liner and insulation for the liner. The sales person also advised me to get a class 2 inspection done if i install it myself for insurance purposes. He recommended 2 guys, one is 250 bucks and the other 265. So it seems if i do it all myself im still looking at right around 4k.