New Here... Need Help Choosing Location for 2nd Stove

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

project240

Nov 30, 2010
Alberta
Let me start off by saying what an incredible wealth of info I've found on this site. I've been reading pages and pages of threads trying to take in as much info as I can since I am new to woodburning.

We bought our first house this past summer, a 2500 sqft bungalow. The house has an existing masonry chimney. I found a great deal on a Osburn 1600 insert and installed in right away. I saw this insert was rated for up to 1600 sq ft and being new to this, I took that at face value, not realizing actual heating area is much smaller. Now that we're getting into the cooler months (-10 to -30C) I'm quickly realizing this insert isn't heating nearly as large an area as I had hoped. I'm having trouble keeping the family room at 20 degrees, burning almost 24/7. I'm thinking about installing a second free standing stove and am looking for help on placement. Our house has 2 furnaces and the furnace on the bedroom half is constantly kicking in. I'm trying to figure out what is the best location for the second stove to help heat that half of the house mostly, as well as assist the Osburn in bringing up the temps on this half. My 2 proposed locations are marked in Green and the Osburn is Red.

I also am looking for suggestions for a stove, but I think that will be a separate thread. Anyways, let me know what you think about my proposed locations or other suggestions.

Thanks in advance!!

scan0001.jpg

Please ignore my poor sketch. Drawn mostly to scale...