Newbie from Indiana

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

carpenter383

Dec 7, 2009
Ellettsville Indiana
Hello all, Great Site! I'm a newbie here, but have been lurking for a couple months.
I have been in the process of installing an home built outdoor wood boiler. (I didn't build it) It was built based on plans from the internet. I just got it going today and it seems to make plenty of heat.
A few details:
It holds aprox. 120-130 gallons of water.
It has an anedode rod in the water jacket.
It has a firebox that's aprox. 12 cubic ft.
It has a forced air blower to keep the fire going.
The circ. pump is set up to run all the time. (is this ok?)
It's insulated with 2" foam board on the back, both sides and the top. The door is poured with some kind of high temp concrete
The fire box is 1/4" mild steel, water jacket is 3/16" (I think)
I didn't get much of a jump on gathering wood in time to let it season well, but what I do have cut has been dead for a couple yrs.
A few questions:
Should I put any fire brick in the fire box?
How much benifit would I get from insulating the bottom of the stove?
What kind of water treatment should I use?
I'm not planning on running the system in warmer months, so should I drain the water every yr. even if I use water treatment?
Are there any common newbie mistakes I should be aware of?
TIA

Gary_602z said:
What are you using to keep it from overheating? Aquastat to shut off blower and draft opening?

Gary