Newbie... Having a hard time.

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

Elisurfer4

Jan 7, 2018
Richmond, VA
Howdy,

I'm totally new to this whole wood burning thing. So far, I absolutely love it, but I definitely have a lot to learn... Right now, my problem is I'm having a really hard time burning a nice hot fire for a decently long amount of time. I'll explain my set up.

-Century CW2900i with blower fan (continuous variable)
-25ft Chimney lined with ovalized and insulated SS
-Burning mostly/only Liberty Bricks (see here:https://www.libertybricks.com/) because the wood I bought earlier in the season is not ready.

I measure temps with an IR gun in multiple spots and I can definitely get those stove in the 400 ranges for 30 min-1hr but then it quickly starts dropping off... The bricks will flame up good at first when I keep the door cracked then shut it with the air wide open, but when I choke it back a bit, the flames start to die down and it just burns red embers until I'm left with a lump of burnt sawdust and some coals.

If anyone has any great tips for a first timer in this particular situation, I would be so appreciative.

Cheers,

Eli

Surround the bricks with small strips of wood then light I start out with three bricks Stove top temps should get up to 450 easily with a low setting on your fan..

Aside from the bricks have you burnt a load of real wood yet? Can you scavenge some untreated lumber 2x4s ect.? Some deadfall limbs? So you can compare to see where you stand?

Reactions: black smoke signals
Describe your timing. How soon do you cut back, etc?