Newbie here

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TJC

Jan 13, 2013
Lancaster, NH
So we decided that we are going to put in a pellet stove. I started the research on line ((how I ended up here) to learn something about them.
We also have 2 stove stores within 15 minutes of the house so I visited them both.

Anyway, I have narrowed the choices to 3, I think. LOL

Enviro M55
Harman XXV
Avalon Astoria (large 1)

I would like opinions, info both good and bad, efficiency about these etc.

I realize now that buying a pellet stove is like buying a car. Everyone sells the best, who's is more efficient etc so I'm going to you guys/gals that have them and the experience with them.

The prices I have received put them all close. The Harman and the Avalon are in pkgs which include install, all piping, floor pad and a ton of premium pellets. The Enviro is a bit more and everything is seperate but that's not scaring me off as the price is still within our range.

Use will be:
Heat the ManCave which is the finished basement and the living area (open design with loft) of the 1st floor through the use of the stairway and likely 3 floor registers.

Thanks for any suggestions, opinions and help.

Tom

I've been using a XXV to heat the first floor of my contemporary colonial for the past year and a half. It cranks heat, it's been a problem free unit, and it keeps the oil man at bay. Last winter I burned three tons, and I'm on about the same pace for this "winter." I love the stove.

Welcome Tom: