newbie looking to buy

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jmorden20

Jan 18, 2016
kitimat,BC
Hello everyone, I'm new to pellet stoves and I will be buying one for next years winter. I like to read and do research before making a purchase like this. Being on the west coast of Canada its hard to compare prices etc. with guys from east coast and in the states. just bought a new 2400 sq ft home with electric heat and cost 600$ to heat for 2 months. Plus the heat fluctuations with electric is annoying. I figure it will take about 3-4 years to see advantage of a pellet stove which i think is good. just wondering what brands and when a good time to buy a stove is (on sale) be great if there was a few people from around my area on here. Anyways look forward to hearing from everyone now and in the future. ( theres a forum for everything now and its great!)

Welcome.
We have a few burners from Canada. I would hope some others may be able to answer your questions. Prices as you have mentioned are regional.
A good deal on a name brand stove with a good reputation can be a good investment if you have some mechanical skill and ability to get things cleaned up. I have only bought 1 stove new. You have the equivalent of CL, kijiji and that would be a very good starting point for a used stove.
Good luck