• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.

mechanic100

Feb 1, 2018
Durham Ontario
I am new here, and just purchased a Sedore 3000.
I installed last night, and am wondering if allot of white smoke from my chimney is normal.
The stove is working great, and burned more than 12 hours with a full load of well seasoned hardwood.
Just seems like a lot of white smoke for such an efficient stove in my opinion.
I am a mechanic by trade, and smoke would generally tell me that there is unburnt fuel.

Last edited by a moderator:
White smoke usually isn't a problem--perhaps some moisture and other gases from the combustion, but not usually anything that can be burned up. I notice it most on colder days. Are you getting good secondary flames? Also if your glass is staying clean that is a pretty good indication of a clean burn too.

no glass on the Sedore 3000, but not sure what you mean by "secondary flame"
certainly burning all of the fuel source.
thanks
Besides no glass, the Sedore is a downdraft stove, so secondary combustion is not visible.

Do the white clouds coming from the chimney dissipate quickly? If so they may be steam. If they are greyish and linger it could be unburnt flue gases.
When was the wood split and stacked? What species of wood are you burning?

Besides no glass, the Sedore is a downdraft stove, so secondary combustion is not visible.

Do the white clouds coming from the chimney dissipate quickly? If so they may be steam. If they are greyish and linger it could be unburnt flue gases.
When was the wood split and stacked? What species of wood are you burning?