1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Next chain saw?

Post in 'The Gear' started by skinnykid, May 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    7,093
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    Nope, don't heat nothing. 2 or3 steady quick passes and done. It ain't on there long enough to hit nothing.
    I am guessing you are either guessing and assuming it heats & take the temper out, or made the mistake personally.
    I haven't had that problem, and it last damn near as long as a new chain.
    There is more than one way for things to be done. Just because folks find a faster, easier way, doesn't make it a worse way.
    Have a nice day.

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. gpcollen1

    gpcollen1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026
    Loc:
    Western CT
    I guess my question is why would you NOT want a dealer around to stand behind the product, assist you when you need it, service it if you want them to, sharpen your chains if you do not do it yourself, purchase your oil and misc stuff from???? I do not see it as a need but why would you not want it? Should everyone buy them from a big box and then ship them to get repaired or serviced?? That makes no sense. There are many folks who do not/cannot service their own equipment.
  3. gpcollen1

    gpcollen1 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,026
    Loc:
    Western CT
    Some of us are busy enough where they cannot do everything. What do I do - I purchase a few chains for each saw (4 for each currently) and then when 2 or 3 are dull, I drop them off when running errands. My local shop is one 3 miles away, so it easy.

    1 - They appreciate the business and adds to the work pile when they are slow
    2 - Keeps my face in there so that I am a customer and not just a once through. I have got some good deals on used equipment because they know me or like me or something - but showing my face as a customer counts to that.
    3 - The cost is minimal and I have enough to do than try and find time to sharpen chains. Something has to be farmed out at home b/c i cannot do it all by myself. Id rather do my brakes on my car and not pay someone to do it as opposed to paying someone while I sit home sharpening chains...
  4. Adios Pantalones

    Adios Pantalones Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    6,443
    Loc:
    S.NH- Mass's smoking section
    It takes me maybe 10-15 mins to sharpen a chain from dull. Probably take me at least 5 to change a chain anyway. Honestly- I have a tendency to overwork myself, so sharpening is a built-in break. I have to remember to get a glass of water every tank of gas in the summer as well.

    Plus- I'm really bad about remembering errands or being around when places are open.
  5. kevin j

    kevin j Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    563
    Loc:
    minnesota us
    I think there are two different topics being intertwined & argued here:

    -Sharpening a rocked chain, or one that has cut over a pickup load of wood. This is a DULL chain, not just dull. To me, that is grind time, and I drop them off at the store. That makes sense, or using a dremel if you wish (I don't).

    -Continuous maintenance to keep a truly sharp chain. Every tank or two, two or three strokes with a file. Takes maybe 5-10 minutes max even on 20 to 24 inch bar. That is the difference between a chain that still cuts, vs. one the is sharp and fast and safer.

    Try freshening the chain long before taking it in for grinding. Huge difference in production and speed.

    Many prior threads on that topic on this BB.

    k
  6. Fredman

    Fredman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Loc:
    U.P. Michigan
    Some people are just plan lazy or just don't or can't learn how to sharpen a chain and they should just go back to burning fossil fuel. I know many loggers that is I suggested about sending out their chains to be sharpened, I better run fast. I have been in the saw shop when someone dropped off a chain and the comment has been why do they even own one after they leave.
  7. Fredman

    Fredman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Loc:
    U.P. Michigan
    better yet buy it by the face and save yourself the embarrassment of going to the shop to drop off your chains!!!!
  8. Fredman

    Fredman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    49
    Loc:
    U.P. Michigan
    Gas saving tip. I get two good pickup loads stacked from one tank of gas.
  9. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    7,093
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    Shame on you lazy people.
    Yeah just order your wood cut split & stacked, or better yet, just buy fossil fuel to heat with, cause ya don't have the added time or knowledge or time to learn the knowledge to sharpen your own chains.
    And also, call a taxi if your transmission goes and you can't fix your own car yourself. And fix your own boiler if it breaks.
    Oh and don't forget to do you own electrical, HVAC, plumbing etc. etc etc. or else your lazy.
    A real man can fix everything and knows everything, otherwise hes lazy.
    All I can suggest is take what info is useful to each here, and take the rest with a grain of salt.
    Its getting sooooo macho in here.
  10. biggins08

    biggins08 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Loc:
    Springfield MA
    I love you Hog.
  11. skinnykid

    skinnykid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Loc:
    Next to a lake in NH
    yes, this thread turned into something I wasn't expecting.

    On a brighter note, I just scored and huge ass Ash tree!! It it is a uprooted blown down in perfect condition. No rot or nothing. I was wondering how in the world I was gonna get it out of the woods but I am cutting it into 5-8 foot length and them dragging them with my 4-wheeler.

    I didn't think it was gonna pull those logs but it does with ease. Not bad for a 500cc.

    I love Polaris quads!
  12. biggins08

    biggins08 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Loc:
    Springfield MA
    My poulan wild thing is the biggest, baddest saw availible today. :)
  13. Hogwildz

    Hogwildz Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    7,093
    Loc:
    Next to nuke plant Berwick, PA.
    Nice score. Free wood rocks!!!!!!!!
    Sorry for the semi hijack of your thread. My tolerance for morons is low these days.
  14. Jags

    Jags Moderate Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15,247
    Loc:
    Northern IL
    AhhhhhHaaaa, ha, ha!

    Oh, and by the way, using a quad to skid logs is lazy. You should wear a harness and pull them out like a sled dog. :coolsmirk:
  15. Jerry_NJ

    Jerry_NJ Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,037
    Loc:
    New Jersey USA
    What's a Polaris Quad, a ATV?

    Do you also use it for other yard work, e.g., mowing with a tow mower? I've been thinking about replacing my old garden tractor, and an ATV seems a good possibility. I'd never be able to skid logs with my garden tractor, it doesn't even have a locking differential. As long as I like this to log skid, I haven't hijacked this thread, right?
  16. Tfin

    Tfin New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    556
    Loc:
    Central Maine
    Yes, its a 4 wheeler (ATV).
  17. skinnykid

    skinnykid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Loc:
    Next to a lake in NH
    I do not use it for yard work because I just bought a house with a big yard but I already have a mower. But as I said, I found out it will skid logs of reasonable size and I am also getting a plow for this coming winter.
  18. skinnykid

    skinnykid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Loc:
    Next to a lake in NH
    here ya go

    [​IMG]
  19. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9,409
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    I had read earlier in the thread that the MS290 was called a pro level saw by a dealer. It is not. It is one of their midrange saws and a nice saw but not a pro saw. Price and plastic case reflects this.

    I am one of the lazy guys who keeps 3-4 chains for my saw. When I put the last sharp one on I take the dull ones to the local saw shop and let him sharpen all of them for a minimal cost. I would rather be doing something else and I don't mind supporting the local saw shop. As it turns out I have spent as much money on chains and sharpening over the years as I have for my saw. No regrets though, I also buy premade (and sliced!!!!) bread from the store. You've got only so much time on this planet.
  20. RAY_PA

    RAY_PA Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    319
    Loc:
    Northeastern PA
    well, I'll jump in on this topic also, since I am getting back into the wood burning. My old Husqy is getting tired,. Sooo, I am leaning toward the MS290, but changing out the 20" bar for an 18". And thoughts on this set up? ( I like the 270 also)
  21. Highbeam

    Highbeam Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    9,409
    Loc:
    base of Mt. Rainier on the wet side, WA
    "leaning toward the MS290, but changing out the 20” bar for an 18”. And thoughts on this set up?"

    I have pretty much concluded on the same saw but leave the 20" bar and be sure that it has the somewhat optional 3/8" chain. Dolmar 5100s would be great too if they had better availability.
  22. skinnykid

    skinnykid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Loc:
    Next to a lake in NH
    They have a MS290 and MS290 Pro.
  23. aandabooks

    aandabooks New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Loc:
    Central Illinois
    There is no MS290 Pro. There used to be a 029 Super. The MS290 is basically the 029 Super with flip caps. If you are thinking of the MS290, spend the extra $40 and buy a MS310. It will be right at $400 w/18" bar. Then you will have a full 3/8 chain setup and a more powerful saw at the same weight. Get a loop of RSC, it will have a yellow tie strap in the loop. The dealer will probably have the saw setup with RSC3 chain. See if you can swap that chain for the RSC.
  24. skinnykid

    skinnykid New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Loc:
    Next to a lake in NH
    your right, my bad, I meant the 260 and the 260 pro. I got my numbers confused. Sorry
  25. Gooserider

    Gooserider Mod Emeritus

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,737
    Loc:
    Northeastern MA (near Lowell)
    If you can find a close by Dolmar dealer, they are well worth a look... I got a 7900 on-line just before Dolmar got stupid and shot themselves in the foot by cutting off on-line sales... You can get the smaller version of the same saw as the Makita 6400 from Baileys and other on-line shops, it's the same saw with a smaller piston & cylinder and blue covers instead of red. If the 6400 turns out to be to small the big engine is just a parts swap away...

    The neat thing about the Dolmar 7900 is that it's an 80cc 6.5hp saw, in the same weight class as the Stihl / Husky 65 - 70 cc saws - best hp/weight ratio in the business, will go through Oak like it wasn't there... I use a 20" bar most of the time (effective length is really closer to 18" because of the agressive bucking teeth) and have a 28" bar that I mount for the really big stuff - I've run the 28" buried full length in maple and the engine didn't even slow down...

    I've also heard great things about the 5100.

    Gooserider
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page