1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)
    Caluwe - Passion for Fire and Water ( Pellet and Wood Hydronic and Space Heating)

Pellet Auto-Ignitor with Thermostat... Can you Retrofit??

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by thephotohound, Nov 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thephotohound

    thephotohound New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Loc:
    Central Massachusetts
    I have an Enviro EF2 FS. It has a simple existing thermostat ("Dial-A-Fire"), but no auto-ignitor. Is it possible to retrofit an auto-ignitor with a thermostat so that once the temperature drops to a certain level (i.e. 60*) it will automatically fire up?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. seaken

    seaken Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    580
    Loc:
    Shokan, NY
    I would say it is possible - should the manufacturer chose to offer it. As far as I know, Enviro does not support retrofitting an auto ignitor on that model. But it would take not only a mechanical change but also a new control board program. I think you'll find it better to buy a new model with that capability.
  3. thephotohound

    thephotohound New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Loc:
    Central Massachusetts
    From what I can tell, as well, Enviro does not offer a retro-fit kit. I can't complain too much, as I got the stove free with the house! Just didn't know if anyone had heard of this option...
  4. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    The EF2 is a Basic Pellet stove with Solid state controls
    the KISS system
    Not a lot to go wrong and very easy to work on because very few ELECTRONICS

    NO CONTROL BOARD
    it uses a Startup timer block
    a Auger on timer block
    and a Dial O fire (potentiometer) to Control the Times between Feeds
    You have to manually put the stove to the auto Position after the stove heats up.


    There is a Thermostat kit for that stove
    you have to rewire everything but the system does not work very well and you tend to get Fault out.
    it is a HIGH LOW system not an ON and OFF system.


    I have a few in a box collecting dust that we use for parts
  5. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Did some checking
    They came 3 ways in early days
    At first they were Ignitor or non egnitor
    then they were ignitor ready
    or installed ignitor from the factory

    If your stove was a Non ignitor the Hole behind the burn pot holder at the back wall for the ignitor would be welded.

    If it was ignitor Ready there was a removable Plate behind the burn pot holder at the back wall.

    If you have the removable plate then you would need
    50-1067 IGNITOR 300W $130.00
    EF-015 EF2/3/4/5/SOLUS IGNITON TEMP SENSOR 120 CERAMIC $35.00

    There will be a mounting spot for the temp sensor
    The wires will be in the back of the stove to connect one wire to the Temp sensor then to the ignitor
    then the other wire to the ignitor.

    You may have to take the Combustion motor off and then the combustion chamber that thecombustion blower mounts to apart
    and take out the Convection chamber to fish the wires through the stove.
  6. thephotohound

    thephotohound New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    332
    Loc:
    Central Massachusetts
    I really appreciate the extra legwork... you didn;t have to do that. Thank you.

    There is a removable plate.

    I assume that "IGNITION TEMP SENSOR" is the part that would sense when the temperature dropped below X degrees and would light the stove?

    How much of a PIA would this be? I'm no electrician or stove expert, but I am what I would consider "handy".
  7. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    No the temp sensor shut off the ignitor after the stove heats up

    This stove will be and never will be an automatic system

    the ignitor is just to start the stove.
    You still have to put the stove auto after the stove heats up.

    A thermostat will only put the stove in a LOW feed rate
    AND I DO NOT RECOMEND a thermostat kit.
    You stove will fault out and go out and you will be cold.

    I would not do the ignitor
    I would spend $40 on a Autospark MAPP gas torch and light it that way.
    http://www.accentshopping.com/globals/images/vault/P/149866/normal/9120.jpg
    Ignitors go out after 3-6 years
  8. Pammy

    Pammy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Loc:
    Nova Scotia
    I have a different problem and would appreciate any help. Installed brand new Enviro EF3 yesterday. Burns great for 15 minutes only!! It shuts down every 15 minutes. The controls are not a circuit board model. I don't know what to do to get the stove to run more than 15 minutes at a time. really at a loss here...please help if you can....
  9. hearthtools

    hearthtools Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,019
    Loc:
    Oakhurst, California, USA, Earth
    Sounds like a wire is the Low limit switch or it is bad.

    Open up the side of the stove and check all the wires.

    Where did you get your stove?

    Go to the dealer and have them put on a new limit switch.
    UNLESS YOU GOT THIS FROM A ONLINE DEALER
    THEN YOU ARE $hit out of luck with service
    Here is a trouble shooting PDF on my website on the enviro parts page
    http://www.hearthtools.com/enviro_pellet.htm
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page