problem with USSC 5510

• Active since 1995, Hearth.com is THE place on the internet for free information and advice about wood stoves, pellet stoves and other energy saving equipment.

We strive to provide opinions, articles, discussions and history related to Hearth Products and in a more general sense, energy issues.

We promote the EFFICIENT, RESPONSIBLE, CLEAN and SAFE use of all fuels, whether renewable or fossil.
Status
Not open for further replies.

urkiddin

Hearth Supporter
Dec 3, 2009
Southwest Vt.
this is my first year with a pellet stove so i'm kinda dumb about how it works.a problem i have is with shutdown.when i shut it down it goes thru it's motions (room fan shuts down and later the draft fan shuts off).what happens after is there still seems to be a few pellets smoldering and then smoke comes back into the room thru the air intake.i don't have a oa intake.wouldn't think this 100 yr old house would be that tight.i have a 3" vent-2ft horizontal and 4ft vertical.i've burnt about 20 bags in it so far this year and brushed out the vent last week.i'm wondering if the draft fan is shutting off to soon.

no it's happened before.

one work around that i've tryed is to open the hopper lid so it stops feeding and wait for it to go out.that seems to help.

Sounds like the combustion blower shuts off to quick.

Have you tried stirring the pot just before you shut it down? Or quickly turn it on then back off to keep the blower running longer. A trick you used to have to do with the older Quads(I would cycle my t stat on - off and the blower would run for a few more minutes).

jay

I've never timed it but my 6039i comb. fan runs for quite a while after I shut her down.Never had a problem like you describe. Have you called US Stove ? Maybe they have a fix for ya. They have been pretty helpful the few times I have called.

Schoondog

jtakeman said: