1. Welcome Hearth.com Guests and Visitors - Please enjoy our forums!
    Hearth.com GOLD Sponsors who help bring the site content to you:
    Hearthstone Soapstone and Cast-Iron stoves( Wood, Gas or Pellet Stoves and Inserts)

Quad Castile and generator question

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by smalltown, Dec 10, 2013.

  1. smalltown

    smalltown Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Loc:
    Western Maine
    I know that last thing we need is another generator topic. I have searched this forum, and the web without an answer at least not the one want to read.

    After searching in vain I finally located a manual interlock kit for my specific service panel so my search has restarted for an emergency residential generator.

    I thought I had settled on a Rigid http://www.homedepot.com/p/RIDGID-6...4phZ2bctk8Z2bctk9Z1z0z74f?NCNI-5#.UqdPSlp3taQ or more likely

    the http://www.homedepot.com/p/Generac-...9nZ18gZ4phZ2bctk8Z2bctk9Z1z0z74f#.UqdPplp3taQ.

    However I a not so sure either will run my Quad Castile without issues. Specifically the THD of the generators.
    I haven't found what the THD specs. are for the Rigid, but the Generac is listed as >5%, and in other spots it states just 5% THD.

    Generac does have the XP line, but we are talking over $2000.

    I understand an inverter generator would do the job, but I want to power more than my Castile. My oil fired boiler also has a lot of electronics, and I need 220v to power my well pump, and a large inverter generator quickly approaches, and some exceed the price of a standby generator.

    Specifically are there any Quad Castile owners on here that have a non inverter portable generator that powers your Castile ok.

    Maybe my only route is a used Honda inverter generator, but I imagine used generators could have issues of their own.

    Any thoughts?

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. Augmister

    Augmister Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    470
    Loc:
    Socialist Republic of RI
    Thanks for your post as I too, have been pouring over past posts on gas generators and pellet stoves. I have a Coleman generator (B&S 10HP). With a transfer switch I have powered 6 house circuits including my stove during storms with no issue. Never run the stove on generator start up and be sure to shut the stove down before powering down/refueling the generator. I monitor what I am running in the house when the generator is on, so that I don't get surges. All my electronics are always on high quality surge protectors.
  3. gfreek

    gfreek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    702
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    IHATEPROPANE likes this.
  4. john193

    john193 Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    933
    Loc:
    Southeast PA
  5. Woody1911a1

    Woody1911a1 Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    423
    Loc:
    Marblehead , Ma
    i have the same refurb bought direct from supergen a year ago . quiet , starts first pull . i've only used it once in a blackout up at camp for a couple hrs , but i've used it for several 6-8 hr cooks on my pellet grill just to prove it .

    happy camper here . nice quality . 12v out too .
    IHATEPROPANE likes this.
  6. SwineFlue

    SwineFlue Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Loc:
    NE Pa
    Have you attempted to run your pellet stoves on this one?
  7. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Both those generators have GFCI outlets and are neutral bonded. The gfci's will pop and the gen will not work when connected to your main panel via inlet box because of double neutral/ground bond. You would have to float the neutral on the gen. (*UPDATED - NO GFCI's on the 30A outlet - will work ok)

    I use my Honda EU2000i for the pellet stove and electronics and only use the big one (Westinghouse WH7500E) for hot water & stuff (we'll pump, boiler, microwave) connected to house transfer sub panel.
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2013
    IHATEPROPANE likes this.
  8. smalltown

    smalltown Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Loc:
    Western Maine
    Rick with the bonded neutral/GFCI issue would the 30 Amp connector output be affected?
  9. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Looks like Rigid L14-30 outlet is NOT GFCI. That's good and would work.

    UPDATED: No GFCI on XG 30A either
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2013
  10. smalltown

    smalltown Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Loc:
    Western Maine
    Rich thanks. Did you deduce that by the web information at Home depot? I have been reading the reviews on the Generac's also. The GP line seemed to have a lot of negative comments not s much with the XG series. At first I thought the Ridgid was a good buy with the Yamaha engine, but I think that the Yamaha engine is made in China much like a few models of generators that advertise as having Honda engines that are also made in China. That's what was shifting me toward the Generac XG line which has a Wisconsin USA made engine.

    Still pulling out my hair trying to supply portable power using a manual interlock kit on my service panel for the Castile and other home electronics, plus the a 220 volt well pump.
  11. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Yeah I know I spent months deciding what to buy. The XG line looks nice.

    My WH has neutral bond but no GFCIs at all. Runs house circuits perfect. But the EU2000i is my main backup for 120 only; quiet and sips gas. Have inlet boxes on house for both 120 (extension cords from GFCI outlet in basement) and 240 (to transfer switch panel).

    Good luck with your decision.
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2013
  12. jay81

    jay81 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Loc:
    Vermont
    My two cents.............I have a B&S EXL8000 with a Generac generator, non inverter. Is set up with a manual transfer switch. It runs my entire house, pellet stove included, and I have never had an issue. Just make sure sensitive electronics are plugged into a quality surge protector, not a Walmart cheapy, and you should be fine. If you are really concerned about running your pellet stove on a standard generator may I suggest a battery back up for your stove.
  13. gfreek

    gfreek Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    702
    Loc:
    Beautiful Attica/Varysburg,New York
    The 2K watt Champion I've had it almost a year, starts first pull, quiet, runs pellet stove no problem. Maybe 2 hours on it.. Any questions call the 800 number, I did and a "human" answered..

    On my 5K generator, NO, But i used to run my furnace, a direct vent propane boiler and it sounded different, as did my blower from my old coal stove..
    Also I have a newer Samsung refrigerator that has a that circuit/control board that I also run from my 2K watt Champion..
    Also IMO, the ETQ generators I would not recommend...from personal experience..just saying..
    SwineFlue likes this.
  14. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Smalltown - From what I can tell it looks like only the Generac XP line has FULL GFCI. From the specs the XG only has GFCI on the 120 outlets. Not the L14-30. I still like the idea of using an inverter gen for the stove, LCD TV etc. and breaking out the big loud gas guzzler just for well pump/hot water.
  15. Micmann

    Micmann New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Loc:
    Eastern MA
    The XP series is definitely full GFCI. It's designed as a job site generator and OSHA requires the full GFCI on job sites. It can be connected to a home but you need to use something like this (XRC0303D) to switch the neutral along with power. But then you run into the code issue of properly grounding the generator because it is classified differently than a non switched neutral generator. Best to avoid unless you have a licensed electrician install it.

    The other thing, as other threads have stated, is the THD can interfere, but a largeer problem is modified sine wave verses true sine wave. Modified looks like blocks and true looks like an "S". The modified sine wave can be a bigger problem than THD with electronics. Virtually all standard portable generators create modified sine wave including the XP Generac. The inverter generators will give you the true sine wave, but they do tend to run small. Most permanent pad mount generators will produce the true sine wave.
  16. peirhead

    peirhead Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Loc:
    PEI Canada
    I suggest you skip the interlock system and put the money into an inverter generator. Just run extension cords from the generator to necessary devices......after all power interuptions aren't permanent...why bother with a permanent solution.
    See my Honda Power Station below!

    Attached Files:

  17. smalltown

    smalltown Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Loc:
    Western Maine
    pierhead I hear you, but sometimes power outages are. Three weeks ago a 12 hour outage then a week later another for several hours.
    If it was just the pellet stove I would opt for the small inverter, but I also loose access to my water. So I would like 220 v for the well pump.

    Just to get a comparison I stopped by a local General installer today to ask some general questions. They suggested at least a 100 gallon propane tank.
    Cost of install approx. $5,000 plus the gas installation that they don't do. That I believe was for the 8kw unit.
    One thing that caught my attention was that the generator would consume 1.68 gallons/hour at full load. I only hope that it drops with less load.

    In looking around last evening at the Northern Tool site. I see that many people had asked what the particular generator's THD was surprisingly a brand name I have never heard of "Power House" had the lowest listed THD of <5%.
    The Generac portables all seem to be >5%.

    I wonder is there such a thing as an inverter that takes a 120 volt input and cleans up the output. "Just thinking out loud here"
  18. moey

    moey Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    942
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    People on this board are way to obsessed with what they think will produce a "pure sign wave" with the delusion their $50 UPS is going to save them garbage in garbage out. Go to HD and buy a 5500w generac or a standard honda champion etc and you will be fine. Dont let it run out of gas and make sure its warmed up when you plug anything in.
    IHATEPROPANE likes this.
  19. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Loc:
    SE CT
    I agree with moey. But I like having the piece of mind running the eu2000i and using bigger one for well pump to take hot showers and flush toilets.

    Smalltown - this is funny because I went through the same frustration as you and spent hours looking at that Powerhorse 9000 at NT!

    Then I bought the Honda and loved it but I still had no well water. That's when I got my 7500w gen of choice with the transfer switch. All is good now!

    And just a heads up. The 7500W is overkill. I've had on all 8 circuits in the transfer panel and it doesn't even put a dent in it. 5000 watt gen is all you need for "critical" circuits. IMO.
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2013
  20. moey

    moey Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    942
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    I have a champion inverter and a champion 3500w generator I have used both to run my pellet stove. Total spent was about $700 including the transfer switch. Obviously I could have gone bigger but I can power my well pump with the 3500w and can run the pellet stove all night with the inverter and be able to sleep not hearing a noisy generator. Inverter generators are nice they are QUIET!!

    In a long power outage a lot of my circuits would be out only 5 are wired through my transfer switch but I would survive comfortably which in the end is what it is about in my opinion.
    IHATEPROPANE likes this.
  21. IHATEPROPANE

    IHATEPROPANE Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,315
    Loc:
    NoPellettons, MA
    If you are looking just to run your pellet stove, a couple CFL lights and TV than a small 1000 watt inverter generator may do the trick and offer piece of mind. There are a few manufacturers, Westinghouse being one of them. Believe they run around $400
  22. peirhead

    peirhead Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    372
    Loc:
    PEI Canada
    a 1000 watt unit will probably not support auto ignition on a stove.......if you manually light it and then just leave it running it would might be OK...

    A good rule of thumb you add up all the watts you think you will need...then double it...that is your minimum size to consider for your generator.
  23. IHATEPROPANE

    IHATEPROPANE Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,315
    Loc:
    NoPellettons, MA
    Ignition on my stove with fan on high is 480 watts....
  24. moey

    moey Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    942
    Loc:
    Southern Maine
    Motors have a instantaneous surge at startup 2-5x, to small a generator and you stall it. My heat pump has a instantaneous surge of roughly 100 amps on startup while running its about 12 amps to give you an idea.
  25. richkorn

    richkorn Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    604
    Loc:
    SE CT
    Yes - my stove as measured with a kill-a-watt meter is also only about 400 watts on startup with igniter. Stove manual says 400W also.

Share This Page