Quadra-Fire Mt Vernon Pellet Stove won't light

Post in 'The Pellet Mill - Pellet and Multifuel Stoves' started by Mir77, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. Mir77

    Mir77
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am reluctant to remove all the wires and then remove the cover from the control board. It makes me nervous. Are there any recommended tools? I am not an electrician by any means but a problem solver, nonetheless. I definitely cannot afford the $678 at this time if it is the control board.

    When the stove is plugged in, the lights on the control board are on, i.e. the red call to the thermostat light flashes, so there must be some part of it working. Pellets keep dropping, and subsequently dumping into the ash drawer — just no red glow, no flame, no fire.

    I seem to recall reading that there is a manual setting on the thermostat control, at which point I could light the pellets by hand. Does anyone have any advice on this point before I can get a technician/fix the problem?
     

    Helpful Sponsor Ads!





  2. heat seeker

    heat seeker
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,546
    Likes Received:
    367
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    For the cost of a tech and/or a new board, I'd manually light the stove.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. LMPS

    LMPS
    Expand Collapse
    Feeling the Heat

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    66
    Loc:
    Coastal, Maine
    You can do a manual light. Let it drop some pellets in the fire pot, open the door use the fire gel and light them ( I would also ad a handful of pellets at this point). Watch the fire you may have to put some more gel on and/or add some pellets manually. It does take a little long for it to build the fire this way but it does work.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    321
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    There's a good chance it is both, but the open trace wins. Of course the trace has to be checked and restored first if necessary, but I would put money on the triac being toast.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    321
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    But then you lose the convenience of automated operation
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Mir77

    Mir77
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I replaced the fuse and it was clearly toast. So far so good. It has been running smoothly for a couple hours now. Thanks, everyone, for your help!
     
  7. tz0zk6

    tz0zk6
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Michigan
    Hello,

    I did the same thing. The new ignitors that I bought had short wires with no plugs on the end. I soldered the old wires with plugs and covered the joint with the ceramic cloth wire covering that is on the ignitor units. Being lazy I did not glue or tape the cloth and my ash drawer nicked the wire and created a spark. Since then my ignitor will not blow. I suspect that I too popped the fuse.

    Did you find the ignitor fuse inside the black control box? were you able to get it open without unplugging the mass of wires connecting to it? Seeking some advice on how to tackle this problem as you did. Is it a normal automotive type fuse or clear glass tube type?

    lighting manually for now

    Thanks!
     
  8. onmyown

    onmyown
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    Central PA
    Hi! I hope you're still out there somewhere Mir77. I have same problem and have replaced igniter thus far. How did you replace the fuse? We have an insert and it is DARNED hard to even get to the control board let alone free it from blower and still keep all the connections in place. Tell me your magic trick! Please!
     
  9. Mir77

    Mir77
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it is a pain, but very worth it. It is most likely a burned out fuse. You can order them on ebay for a couple bucks. The tricky part is that you have to remove each wire from the control board and remove the box completely to locate the fuse and replace it. I took the time to number each wire and each insertion so that I could make sure I could get them back the right way. That was me probably being overcautious as each one is a different shape and color, but it worked for me.

    I would unplug the stove and then remove the back right panel. Then remove each of the wires to free the box. Once you locate the fuse you will be able to tell if it is fried because it will look burnt inside.

    I hope this helps. You may want to find the QuadraFire Troubleshooting Manual online or there may be other documentation but you might have to dig. I think they like for customers to use technicians. But I felt so victorious to be able to fix it myself.

    Good Luck!

    Miriam
     
  10. tsmith

    tsmith
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    102
    Loc:
    Kutztown, PA
    Here is the manual.
     

    Attached Files:

    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  11. buddy01

    buddy01
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loc:
    granite falls wa.
    Good job ALL of you. Took my control board out number each wire and guess what! bad fuse A bad firepot started this mess. the whole bottom was burnt off. That shorted the igniter out, then took the fuse You saved me hundreds thanks again.
     
  12. BrotherBart

    BrotherBart
    Expand Collapse
    Hearth.com LLC Mid-Atlantic Division
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    32,190
    Likes Received:
    9,470
    Loc:
    Northern Virginia
    Hearth.com strikes again. :)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  13. kappel15

    kappel15
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    226
    Loc:
    Iowa
    There is a new wire harness for the igniter that has inline fuses to make for easier replacement. # SRV7034-273. kap
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Lake Girl likes this.
  14. heat seeker

    heat seeker
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2,546
    Likes Received:
    367
    Loc:
    Northern CT
    You can also install your own inline fuse for under $5. Piece of cake!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  15. Harvey Schneider

    Harvey Schneider
    Expand Collapse
    Minister of Fire

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    321
    Loc:
    Southbury, CT
    Solder is not recommended for connecting the wires on heaters. Conducted heat from the igniter and high currents can melt the solder. An insulated crimp butt connector is a much more reliable way to splice those wires.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    heat seeker and Lake Girl like this.

Share This Page

Entire Site copyright © 1995-2016 - email to webinfo@hearth.com
Hearth.com and HearthNet are property and trademarks of Hearth.com LLC Advertising Information